Past Principals

Suzanne Fortier, 2013-2022

3 Apr 2023

Suzanne Fortier served as the 17th Principal and Vice-Chancellor of McGill University from 2013 to 2022. Prior to her appointment as Principal, Professor Fortier was President of the Natural...

Heather Munroe-Blum, 2003-2013

3 Apr 2023

Heather Munroe-Blum became 16th Principal and Vice-Chancellor (President) and Senior Officer of McGill University in 2003.  An accomplished scholar in the fields of psychiatric epidemiology and...

Bernard J. Shapiro, 1994-2002

3 Apr 2023

Born and raised in Montreal, Shapiro earned his undergraduate degree at McGill University, where he was awarded the Alan Oliver Gold Medal. He is past president of the Canadian Society for the...

David Lloyd Johnston, 1979-1994

3 Apr 2023

David Lloyd JohnstonBorn in Sudbury, Ontario, Johnston received his BA from Harvard in 1963. He holds law degrees from Cambridge and from Queen's and served on the Law faculties of Queen's and...

Robert Edward Bell, 1970-1979

3 Apr 2023

After research and teaching in nuclear physics, including terms as Rutherford Professor of Physics and Dean of the Faculty of Graduate Studies, Robert E. Bell was appointed Principal in 1970.

Harold Rocke Robertson, 1962-1970

3 Apr 2023

Born in Victoria, B.C., in 1912, Robertson received his BSc (1932) and MD,CM (1936) from McGill. He was Professor of Surgery at the University of British Columbia and afterwards Surgeon-in-chief at...

Frank Cyril James, 1939-1962

3 Apr 2023

Born in 1903 in London, England, Frank Cyril James attended the London School of Economics and the University of Pennsylvania, where he obtained his PhD in 1926 and pursued a career as an economist...

Lewis Williams Douglas, 1938-1939

3 Apr 2023

Lewis Williams Douglas, an American, but the grandson of James Douglas, who had served as a governor of McGill, 1911-1919, and who had been a major benefactor of the University, was Principal from...

Arthur Eustace Morgan, 1935-1937

3 Apr 2023

Born in Bristol, England, on 26 July 1886, Morgan was the first Principal of University College, Hull, from 1926 to 1935 before being appointed as McGill's Principal.


Back to top