Montreal International Poetry Prize

The Montreal International Poetry Prize is now overseen by McGill’s Department of English. The competition for 2020, under the auspices of McGill English, drew nearly 5000 entries from more than 100 nations around the world. McGill English is proud to host this international poetry competition, which awards CAD $20,000 to a single poem of 40 or fewer lines.

Poetry Matters led the initiative of transferring management to the Department of English at McGill 2017-19. Founded in 2010 by Montreal poet and critic and McGill alumnus Asa Boxer,, the biennial Montreal Prize ran successful competition cycles in 2011, 2013, 2015, and 2017. Past judges include Sir Andrew Motion, Don Paterson, Eavan Boland, and Michael Harris. For more on the migration of the Prize to McGill, see

Follow the Montreal International Poetry Prize on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.

For more information on The Montreal Prize, including its history, mission, founders, and past competitions, please consult their website. The judge for 2020 is Yusef Komunyakaa.

For more information on The Montreal Poetry Prize Anthology, published by Véhicule Press, see their website.

Back to top