

## First Gerald Bronfman Department of Oncology Distinguished Lecture and Awards Ceremony



Reception area at the new headquarters of the Gerald Bronfman Department of Oncology

In June 2016, McGill University's Department of Oncology was re-named the Gerald Bronfman Department of Oncology in recognition of its leading patron and his family. In February 2017, the Department's headquarters moved from its original home on Pine Avenue to 5100 de Maisonneuve Blvd. West, Suite 720. In light of these changes, the annual Gerald Bronfman Centre Symposium and Awards Ceremony (2011-2015) was discontinued and replaced with the *Gerald Bronfman Department of Oncology Distinguished Lecture and Awards Ceremony*.

The first of this new series was celebrated on Monday October 23, 2017 and was held at the new headquarters to mark its official inauguration. The Dean of Medicine, Dr. David Eidelman, was the McGill dignitary to unveil the new plaque honouring the memory of Gerald Bronfman.



Dean of Medicine, Dr. David Eidelman, unveiling the new plaque beside the portrait of Gerald Bronfman



Plaque dedicated to the memory of Gerald Bronfman

The event began with introductory remarks by Dean Eidelman, who had high praise for the Department and saw it as a source of pride for the Faculty. He considered this inaugural lecture as the beginning of the next life of the Department as it focuses on being a centre for educational and research excellence. This was followed by Department Chair, Dr. Eduardo Franco, introducing the Distinguished Lecturer, **Dr. Gerald Batist**. Dr. Batist is the Director of the Segal Cancer Centre, Chief of Oncology at the Jewish General Hospital and was the former Chair of the McGill Department of Oncology (2001-2011). His lecture entitled *New Cancer Therapeutics – Moonshot and Beyond*, focused on shifting from a one-size-fits-all approach to cancer therapeutics to a personalized medicine approach which uses molecular profiling to optimize the match of specific treatments to individual patients. He discussed the benefits and pitfalls of this kind of approach and answered the many questions from the audience, which included physicians, researchers, students, and allied health professionals.



Distinguished Lecturer, Dr. Gerald Batist

The Awards Ceremony was divided into three parts: (i) presentation of the two Kuok Fellowships (Gerald Bronfman Department of Oncology & Rossy Cancer Network's Cancer Quality and Innovation Program); (ii) presentation of the three Merit Awards; and (iii) presentation of the Lifetime Achievement Award. Dr. Franco gave the audience a brief overview of the history of the Gerald Bronfman Department of Oncology, explained the awards nomination and selection process and then introduced each of the award winners.

Dr. Ari Meguerditchian, Department member and Cancer Quality and Innovation Lead of the Rossy Cancer Network, presented the Kuok Fellowship awards to M.Sc. student, **Ms. Ariane Santerre-Theil** who is supervised by Dr. Carmen Loiselle, and Ph.D. student **Ms. Siyana Kurteva** who is supervised by Dr. Robyn Tamblyn.

The Academic, Clinical or Research Support Award was presented to **Ms. Penny Chipman** by her nominator, Dr. Armen Aprikian. Ms. Chipman played a central role in the Department's coordination of oncology clinical trials across hospital sites from 1990 to 2015. She is currently Manager of Oncology Research at the MUHC Research Institute's Centre for Innovative Medicine.

The Teaching and Mentorship Award was presented to **Dr. Joanne Alfieri** by her nominator, Dr. Tarek Hijal. Dr. Alfieri is an Assitant Professor in the Department and the Program Director for the Radiation Oncology Residency Training Program. She has a keen interest in medical education and was the recipient of the Jonathan Campbell Meakins and Family Memorial Fellowship for a Master's degree in Medical Education at Dundee University, Scotland.



Dr. Ari Meguerditchian, Ms. Ariane Santerre-Theil and Dr. Carmen Loiselle



Dr. Ari Meguerditchian, Ms. Siyana Kurteva and Dr. Eduardo Franco

The Research or Clnical Service Award was presented to **Dr. Antoine Loutfi** by his nominator, Dr. Sarkis Meterissian. Dr. Loutfi is an Associate Professor in the Departments of Oncology and Surgery. He was the first MUHC surgeon to implant the "port-a-cath" for venous access and developed an instructional video on the technique. Dr. Loutfi spent three years in Ethiopia developing a training program in surgical emergencies for general practitioners and taught surgery in Uganda and Rwanda. In 2004 he was appointed as the first Director of the Direction de la lutte contre le cancer at the Ministère de la Santé et des Services Sociaux where he implemented a five-year cancer control plan that led to several improvements in cancer care.



Dr. David Eidelman (Dean of Medicine), Ms. Penny Chipman and Dr. Armen Aprikian



Dr. David Eidelman (Dean of Medicine), Dr. Joanne Alfieri and Dr. Tarek Hijal



Dr. David Eidelman (Dean of Medicine), Dr. Antoine Loutfi and Dr. Sarkis Meterissian

The Department's Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to **Dr. Philip H. Gordon**, Professor in the Departments of Surgery and Oncology. Dr. Gordon, a colorectal surgeon, has many accomplishments and accolades. For example, in 1989 he was cited as one of Town and Country's 24 outstanding colon and rectal surgeons in the United States and Canada, he was the Founding President of the Canadian Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons (1982-1986) and was President of the American Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons (1994-1995). In 2011 he was awarded "Master in Colorectal Surgery" by the American Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons for his extraordinary contributions to the specialty of colon and rectal surgery, and in 2015 he was honoured by the establishment of the *Annual Philip H. Gordon Lectureship* at McGill University during its Annual Academic Day. After receiving the award from Dean Eidelman, Dr. Gordon gave a moving speech expressing how touched he has been over the years seeing many of his patients and their families continue to thrive, and his gratitude to his family, particularly his wife, for their constant support throughout his career.

Dr. Franco thanked all attendees and invited them for a wine and cheese reception at the foyer of the seminar room. He invited the award recipients, Dr Batist and Dean Eidelman for a photo-op session at the reception area of the Gerald Bronfman Department of Oncology.



Dr. David Eidelman (Dean of Medicine), Dr. Philip Gordon and Dr. Eduardo Franco





Award recipients, distinguished lecturer, and Dean Eidelman