Non-academic staff

Administrative staff:

Ann Gossage - Administrative Assistant

Office: Macdonald-Stewart Building, R3-021B
Tel: (514) 398-7913
ann.gossage [at] (Email: Ann Gossage)


  • oversees all activities related to the Department
  • administers departmental budget
  • develops and implements policies, procedures and systems necessary to operate department efficiently
  • communicates information
  • supervises secretarial/clerical staff
  • processes staff appointments
  • Departmental HR contact for hiring procedures
  • administers program to hire teaching assistants
  • undertakes other varied administrative responsibilities to assist the Chair

Abida Subhan - Coordinator

Office: Macdonald-Stewart Building, R3-021A (via R3-032)
Tel: (514) 398-7890
Fax: (514) 398-8732
abida.subhan [at] (Email: Abida Subhan)


  • POPS Payroll
  • Invoice/IDC payments
  • Purchasing
  • UPrint
  • Telephone Coordinator


Technical staff:

Hélène Lalande

Office: Macdonald-Stewart building MS2-065, MS2-099, MS2-104
Tel: (514) 398-7945
helene.lalande [at] (Email: Hélène Lalande)

Responsibilities: Research laboratories (Environmental Chemistry and Soil Nutrient)

  • Operates instruments for measuring soil chemical properties, water chemistry and tissue components
  • Provides guidance to graduate and undergraduate students working in the laboratories and troubleshooting expertise
  • Implements the quality assurance program and works with students to implement quality control practices
  • Co-ordinates the usage of equipment
  • Offers a soil testing service to the research community
  • Is responsible for the maintenance of the laboratory in good operational order and purchasing of required equipment and material

Short list of laboratory instruments:

  • Lachat flow injection auto-analyser (for determination of nitrate, ammonium, nitrogen, phosphate, phosphorus, potassium)
  • Perkin-Elmer atomic absorption spectrophotometer (various lamps available): Al, Ca, Cd, Cu, Fe, K, Mg, Mn, Mo, Na, Ni, Pb, Si, Zn
  • Trace elements on  Varian ICP-MS 820: mainly, Ag, Al, As, Ba, Cd, Co, Cr, Cu, Fe, Mn, Ni, Pb, Rb, Se, Sr, V and Zn
  • Tecator digestion blocks

David Meek

Office: Macdonald-Stewart Building, MS3-069
Tel: (514) 398-7888
david.meek [at] (Email: David Meek)


  • Microbiology undergraduate teaching lab: oversees all activities and purchasing
  • Oversees autoclave, growth chamber and incubator rentals and maintenance
  • Departmental radiation safety officer (DRSO)

Khosro Mousavi

Office: Macdonald-Stewart Building, MS2-078
Tel: (514) 398-7939
khosro.mousavi [at] (Email: Khosro Mousavi)


  • Departmental greenhouse: coordinate reservations and maintenance
  • Departmental Safety Officer and Chemical Waste Coordinator: oversee all items related to safety and chemical waste in the Department
  • Soil undergrad teaching lab: oversee all activities and purchasing
  • Biology undergrad teaching lab: oversee all activities and purchasing

Ian Ritchie

Tel: (514) 398-7901
ian.ritchie [at] (Email: Ian Ritchie)