Principal’s Prize for Public Engagement through Media

Principal and Vice-Chancellor Suzanne Fortier created the Principal’s Prize for Public Engagement through Media to recognize outstanding achievement among those who share their expertise and research with the public and the media. They play a vital role in supporting McGill University’s commitment to being of service to society and engaging with the broader community.

The categories in which awards will be given out have changed. Prizes will be given out in four categories:

  • A Prize for Graduate Student and Postdoctoral Fellows for graduate students and postdoctoral fellows who are just starting to work with media and engage with the public;
  • A Prize for Emerging Researchers for those who are no more than 10 years beyond their PhD or other highest degree;
  • A Prize for Established Academicsfor those who are 10+ years beyond their PhD or other highest degree; and
  • A Prize for Collaborationfor groups of undergraduate or graduate students that engage with the external community and/or the media.

The winners in each category will receive a cheque for $5,000.

If you have any questions, please consult our FAQ page. If you can’t find the answer there, you can send your questions to communications.prize [at]

Winners and runners-up will be notified in late February


Winners - 2020 Prize

Runners-up - 2020 Prize

Jurors - 2020 Principal’s Prize

The jury this year represented a wide cross section of the McGill University community. It was composed of:

  • Pierre Boisseau, Director of Institutional Communications
  • Brenda Branswell, a former journalist with the Montreal Gazette and now a communications officer with University Advancement
  • Brian Buraga, President of SSMU
  • Professor Anja Geitmann, Dean of the Faculty of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
  • Professor Andrew Kirk, James McGill Professor and Chair of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Dakota Rogers, Secretary General of PGSS and a PhD candidate in the Department of Physiology
  • Professor Nancy Ross, Department of Geography and Associate Vice-Principal (Research and Innovation)
  • Glenn Zabowski, the Interim Dean of Students.



Back to top