Anne-Louise Lafontaine, MD, MSc, FRCPC

Contact Information

Email: Anne-louise.lafontaine [at] (Anne-Louise Lafontaine)
Tel.: (514) 934-8026
Recent Publications:  PubMed 
Academic Affiliations: Neurology
Research Group: Neurodegenerative Diseases


Dr. Anne-Louise Lafontaine is the Chief of the department of Neurology of the McGill University Health Centre (MUHC). She is also the associate-chair department of Neurology and Neurosurgery. 

Dr. Lafontaine is an Associate Professor in the Faculty of Medicine of McGill University and Director of the McGill Movement Disorder Clinic, which is a designated centre of excellence by the National Parkinson Foundation that she co-founded. Dr. Lafontaine obtained her MD at McMaster University and her MSc in biostatistics and epidemiology from McGill. She then did her residency in neurology at McGill before completing a fellowship in movement disorders at the University of Calgary.

Dr. Lafontaine is a recognized national speaker in Parkinson’s disease and movement disorders. She has a strong interest in education and ethics and served as the Program Director of the neurology residency training program at McGill. She has also been recognized with numerous awards for excellence in clinical teaching and is a longstanding member of the Research Ethics Board of the Neuro. In addition to leading the Movement Disorder Clinic, Dr. Lafontaine is the Director of the Renata Hornstein Parkinson Clinic.  She has served in the past as a Member of the Board and as Chair of the Research Policy Committee of the Parkinson Society Canada, and is currently a member of its Medical Advisory Board. She was also Co-chair of the Local Organizing Committee and Member of the Steering Committee of the 2013 World Parkinson Congress.

The Neuro logo McGill logoMcGill University Health Centre logoKillam logo

The Neuro is a McGill research and teaching institute; delivering the highest quality patient care, as part of the Neuroscience Mission of the McGill University Health Centre. We are proud to be a Killam Institution, supported by the Killam Trusts.