Our People

The Neuro’s Tanenbaum Open Science Institute (TOSI) was created to speed up discovery in neuroscience, establish best practices globally and deliver new and improved treatments to patients and their families. Meet the teams, ambassadors and partners collaborating to make this a reality. 

Founders Group

  • Promote, support and propel Open Science to accelerate discovery and guide The Neuro’s transformative journey
  • Broker, foster and nurture relationships to advance The Neuro's Open Science mission
  • Gather significant resources to support and implement Open Science at The Neuro.

Leaders Council

  • Serve as ambassadors in promoting the mission and goals of Open Science
  • Advise on issues and opportunities in the fields of science, policy, governance, finance, and human resources 
  • Evaluate the advancement of this innovative research model.


Naomi Azrieli, Chair and Chief Executive Officer, Azrieli Foundation

Alan Bernstein, President & CEO of CIFAR

Jacques Bougie, Chair of The Neuro Advisory Board (ex-officio member)

Aled Edwards, Founder and CEO, Structural Genomics Consortium

Rubin Gruber, Entrepreneur and Investor

Robert Mark Krembil, President, Krembil Foundation

Frank Litvack, Executive Chairman, Capricor Therapeutics

Jeff Mallet, Founding President & COO, Director, Yahoo!

Lisa McKerracher, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, BioAxone

Heather Munroe-Blum, Chairperson, Canada Pension Plan Investment Board; former Principal and Vice-Chancellor, McGill University (2003-2013); TOSI Founder, member ex-officio

Guy Rouleau (Chair), Director, The Neuro, TOSI Founder, member ex-officio

Larry Tanenbaum, Chairman & CEO, Kilmer Van Nostrand Co. Limited, TOSI Founder, member ex-officio

From left to right:
Jeff Mallet, Frank Litvack, Heather Munroe-Blum, Aled Edwards, Robert Mark Krembil, Lisa McKerracher, Rubin Gruber, Larry Tanenbaum, Guy Rouleau
Missing from photo: Naomi Azrieli and Jacques Bougie

Executive Team

  • Plan and manage the implementation of Open Science at The Neuro
  • Support the Founders Group and Leaders Council in all aspects of achieving their mandates

Guy Rouleau
Guy Rouleau
Director, The Neuro

Photo of Vivianne Poupon, COO of the Tanenbaum Open Science Institute in the Healing Garden at The Neuro
Viviane Poupon
Chief Operating Officer, TOSI

Open Science Grassroots Initiatives Committee

The Committee, chaired by Dr. Sylvain Baillet, will encourage and promote Open Science grassroots initiatives and research practices at The Neuro and beyond for the advancement of knowledge and clinical care, and the welfare of the community.


  • Encourage our researchers to adopt open science practices by promoting and supporting open science principles, tools and resources
  • Keep our Open Science model at the cutting-edge by providing practical and strategic insights on current open science research worldwide
  • Collect our researchers’ needs to adopt open science practices and deliver concrete outcomes in research and education
  • Define top priorities for implementation at The Neuro
  • Report to TOSI’s Executives and Leaders Council.

Sylvain Baillet, Chair
Peter McPherson
Ed Ruthazer
Madeleine Sharp
Christine Tardif
Stuart Trenholm
Birgit Frauscher
Adrien Peyrache

Term: 2 years, renewable


Structural Genomics Consortium: The SGC and its scientists are committed to making their research outputs (materials and knowledge) available without restriction on use. This means that the SGC will promptly place its results in the public domain and will agree not to file for patent protection on any of its research outputs. It will seek the same commitment from any research collaborator.


The Neuro logo McGill logoMcGill University Health Centre logoKillam logo

The Neuro is a McGill research and teaching institute; delivering the highest quality patient care, as part of the Neuroscience Mission of the McGill University Health Centre. We are proud to be a Killam Institution, supported by the Killam Trusts.