2016 Awards of Excellence in Nursing



patients MNI Neuro

Nurses at the Neuro are on the front line and are involved in all aspects of the health care system, whether it is research, administration, education or clinical care. Their role in improving the health and well-being of others is critical.

The 2016 Neuroscience Nursing Awards of Excellence Ceremony took place on May 10 as part of National Nursing Week. It was a wonderful showcase of dedication, spirit, determination, strength, compassion and innovation, and an opportunity to pause and celebrate nurses and others who have gone above and beyond. We would like to recognize this year’s awardees and again thank all the staff for their hard work and dedication to patient care.

Visit our Facebook page to see profiles of the award winners.

2016 Award Winners


Evelyn Malowany Award for Clinical Practice

Mary Villamor

Anne-Marie Lejeune Award for Spiritual Care

Lana Kim McGeary

Lorine Besel Prize for Leadership

Joanne Charbonneau

Laraine Imperial Partners in Practice Award

Carol McCorkill De Graaf

The Anne-Marie Lejeune Prize

Nathalie Cloutier-Fons

Evelyn Malowany  Prize for Clinical Practice

Marie-Claude Lesieur

Peggy Sangster Award for Excellence in Preceptorship

Marianne Sofronas

Patricia O'Connor Award for an Evidence-Informed Project

The Brain Tumor Interdisciplinary Team

Certificate of Recognition

Josée Allard


The Neuro logo McGill logoMcGill University Health Centre logoKillam Laureates


The Neuro (Montreal Neurological Institute-Hospital) is a bilingual academic healthcare institution. We are a McGill research and teaching institute; delivering high-quality patient care, as part of the Neuroscience Mission of the McGill University Health Centre. We are proud to be a Killam Institution, supported by the Killam Trusts.




Back to top