McGill Symphony Orchestra


Strathcona Music Building Pollack Hall, 555 rue Sherbrooke Ouest, Montreal, QC, H3A 1E3, CA
$20 / $15
McGill Symphony Orchestra; Credit: Dominick Gravel

Alexis Hauser, Artistic Director
Takuto Fukuda, composer, Winner of the 2016-2017 Andrew Svoboda Prize for Orchestral Composition


TAKUTO FUKUDA Convergence (Premiere)
LEONARD BERNSTEIN Chichester Psalms with the McGill Concert Choir

In celebration of Leonard Bernstein's 100th birthday, the McGill Symphony Orchestra will perform his Chichester Psalms and Luciano Berio's For Lenny. Also on the program is the premiere of Takuto Fukuda's Convergence and Debussy's Trois Images.

About the Andrew Svoboda Prize for Orchestral Composition

The Andrew Svoboda Prize for Orchestral Composition was created in memory of Andrew Svoboda, BMus’00, MMus’04, a promising composer who passed away suddenly in 2004. The prize seeks to recognize excellence in orchestral composition, encourage the creation of new Canadian orchestral works and provide enriched pedagogical opportunities for student composers and performers through an annual commissioning prize of $5,000 for an orchestral piece to be premiered by the McGill Symphony Orchestra.

The performance on November 24 will be webcast on the Schulich School of Music YouTube channel.

Box Office: Tickets are available online or through our Box Office (in person or by phone: 514-398-4547) between 12:00pm and 6:00pm (555 Sherbrooke Street West). Applicable taxes included, service fees apply to the purchase of tickets onlin

Back to top