Intermezzo: Musical Chairs

Wednesday, February 26, 2020 12:00to13:00
Elizabeth Wirth Music Building Tanna Schulich Hall, 527 rue Sherbrooke Ouest, Montreal, QC, H3A 1E3, CA
Free admission

Explore different instrument groupings and repertoire in this noon-hour series. This concert is presented as part of the Musical Chairs Chamber Music Festival.

String Quartet No. 2 in C major, Op. 20

I. Moderato
II. Adagio
III. Minuetto. Allegretto
IV. Fuga a 4 Soggetti

Persée Quartet, winner of the 2019-2020 McGill Chamber Music Competition
Kiarra Saito-Beckman, Russell Iceberg, violin
Justin Almazan, viola
Braden McConnell, cello


FRANZ SCHUBERT (1797-1828)
String Quartet en D minor, D. 810, Death and the Maiden

I. Allegro
II. Andante con moto
III. Scherzo Allegro molto
IV. Presto

Stanley Street Quartet
Sola Hughes, Harry Egerton, violin
Murray Kearney, viola
Michael Gibson, cello

Bringing together musicians from eight institutions across four continents, the third edition of Musical Chairs presents workshops, concerts, and masterclasses featuring top-level students and distinguished professionals.

Joining Schulich faculty and students are featured guests: James Campbell*, clarinet; Matthew Jones, viola; Kim Kashkashian*, viola; Peter Wiley*, cello; Matthew Jones, viola; Björn Christian Nyman, clarinet; Michele Walsh, violin; Ilmo Ranta, piano; Leonhard Roczek, cello; Yan Lim, piano; and Trio Zadig
(*Catherine Thornhill Steele Visiting Artist)

Invited Conservatories: Queen Elisabeth Music Chapel (Belgium), Guildhall School of Music and Drama (United Kingdom), Mozarteum University Salzburg (Austria), Norwegian Academy of Music (Norway), Queensland Conservatorium, Griffith University (Australia), Sibelius Academy (Finland), Yong Siew Toh Conservatory of Music (Singapore)

*Catherine Thornhill Steele Visiting Artists

See the full programming of events here.

Back to top