McGill Undergraduate Research Conference

McGill Undergraduate Research Conference

Undergraduate students in Microbiology and Immunology have often distinguished themselves at the McGill Undergraduate Research Conference. 


Rayoun Ramendra
2nd prize, Category: Cellular & Molecular Biology
Project: Circulating (1→3)-β-D-Glucan contributes to systemic immune activation during early and chronic HIV-infection
Supervisor: Prof. Jean-Pierre Routy


Johanna Hoshizaki
1st prize, Category: Medical Sciences
Project: Using bioinformatic analysis and CRISPR gene editing to develop attenuated strains of Leishmania as a potential vaccine
Supervisor: Prof. Greg Matlashewski

Lindsay Burns
2nd prize, Category: Biological Sciences
Project: Host-cell mediated modification of bacterial virulence factor NleA
Supervisor: Prof. Samantha Gruenheid


Liang Chen, 2nd prize, Anatomy & Cell Biology: Loss-of-Function Analysis Elucidates Essential Roles of elF4E Isoforms in Drosophila Spermatogenesis
Supervisors: Prof. Paul Lasko, Prof. Craig Mandato

Erica Ma, 2nd prize, Microbiology & Immunology: Systemic coordination of eosinophilia following immune challenge
Supervisor: Prof. Irah King



Daegan Sit, 2nd prize, Cellular and Molecular Biology: Development of a High-Throughput, Genome-Wide Screen of Virulence-Related Genes in Pseudomonas aeruginosa using a Caenorhabditis elegans Liquid Killing Model.
Supervisors: Prof. Fred Ausubel and Dr. Natalia Kirienko

Joseph Yang, 2nd prize, Medical Sciences: Knee Deep in Water: Aquaporin 9 and Cartilage Damage.
Supervisors: Dr. Benjamin Alman



Edward Mason, 1st prize, Medical Sciences: Pancreatic homing of Foxp3+regulatory T cells in a murine model of Type-1 Diabetes.
Supervisor: Prof. Ciriaco A. Piccirillo

Isabelle Desloges, 2nd prize, Medical Sciences: Heterogeneity of outer membrane protease T activity in Uropathogenic Escherichia coli clinical isolates.
Supervisors: Prof. Samantha Gruenheid and Prof. Herve Le Moual.



Kristiana Salmon, 1st prize, Biological Sciences: RT-qPCR Analysis of Two-Component System Gene Expression in Citrobacter rodentium
Supervisors: Prof. Samantha Gruenheid & Prof. Hervé Le Moual

Raphaël Brisset Di Roberto, 2nd prize, Medical Sciences: Intranasal administration of engineered Lactococcus lactis as a live vaccine against Leishmania major infections
Supervisor: Prof. Benoit Cousineau



Joshua Gillard, 1st prize, Medical Sciences: Development of an oral live vaccine against Leishmaniasis using ALR knockout Lactococcus Lactis
Supervisor: Dr. Benoit Cousineau

Young Kyuen Im, 2nd prize, Biological Sciences: Selection of host factors that stimulate splicing of the Ll.LtrB group II intron in Lactococcus lactis
Supervisor: Prof. Benoit Cousineau



Marnie Goodwin Wilson, 1st prize, Health & Life Sciences: Epigenetic cancer therapeutics modulate the oncolytic activity of Vesicular Stomatitis Virus (VSV) in refractory cell lines
Supervisor: Prof. John Hiscott

Daniel Ting, 2nd prize, Health & Life Sciences: The Role of Citrobacter rodentium lipopolysaccharide modifications in outer membrane permeability to hydrophobic compounds
Supervisor: Prof. Hervé Le Moual



Charles Viau, 2nd prize, Health & Life ScienceS: Transcriptional Regulation by PhoP in Salmonella enterica
Supervisor: Prof. Hervé Le Moual



Lisa Kronstad, 1st prize, Biological Sciences: Importance of Base-Pairing in the Trans-Splicing of a Group II Intron
Supervisor: Prof. Benoit Cousineau



Kwame Twumasi-Boateng, 2nd prize, Biological Sciences: Deletion of brlA in Aspergillus fumigatus Dysregulates Development and Gliotoxin Production
Supervisor: Dr. Donald Sheppard

Back to top