Swampy Cree Suicide Prevention Team




The Swampy Cree Suicide Prevention Team is funded by the Canadian Institutes of Health Research. The team is led by Drs. Jitender Sareen, Brenda Elias and Mr. Garry Munro. The funding brings together representatives from eight Swampy Cree Tribal Council communities with University-based researchers and international consultants.

The Swampy Cree Tribal Council from 8 First Nations communities in Northwestern Manitoba.

Cree Nations Tribal Health Centre:

  • Mr. Garry Munro
  • Mr. Ron Cook
  • Community representatives from each of the 8 communities.

The University of Manitoba based investigators include experts in psychiatry, child psychiatry, population health, Aboriginal Health and psychological interventions.

Department of Psychiatry, University of Manitoba:

Department of Community Health Sciences, University of Manitoba:

The team includes international experts in the field of aboriginal health, trauma and suicide prevention:

The team includes Associate Members at the University of Manitoba: