Course & Program Guidelines (BCC)


Department >> Faculty of Medicine Biomedical Curriculum Committee >> Faculty of Medicine Associate Dean of Biomedical BSc, Graduate and Postdoctoral Affairs/Deanery >> SCTP >> APC >> Senate

  • Department initiates proposal for new courses and programs and changes to existing courses and programs to the Biomedical Curriculum Committee (BCC) after approval of the Departmental Curriculum Committee and/or Department Chair/Unit Director.  The application form must be signed and the online submission must be approved in Minerva by the Chair/Director. Application is then forwarded to Graduate Studies Administrator - Faculty of Medicine [at]

  • The application is then reviewed by the BCC that will communicate with the Department/Unit/School if more information is needed.
  • Once approved by the BCC, The Associate Dean of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies and Biomedical BSc approves and the application is then forwarded to the University Sub-Committee on Courses and Teaching Programs (SCTP).
  • The approved proposal will proceed to the Faculty of Graduate Studies and Research and University Academic Policy and Planning Committee (APC).
  • The proposal is presented to the Faculty of Medicine General Assembly and to Senate for ratification.



Submission Deadline for BCC

BCC Meeting

CGPS Meeting

SCTP Meeting



Monday September 17, 2018 Thursday September 27, 2018
Monday September 10, 2018 Friday September 14, 2018 Monday October 15, 2018 Thursday October 18, 2018
Friday September 28, 2018 Friday October 5, 2018 Monday November 12, 2018 Thursday November 8, 2018
Thursday November 1, 2018 Friday November 9, 2018 Monday December 17, 2018 Thursday December 6, 2018
Thursday November 29, 2018 Friday December 7, 2018 Monday January 14, 2019 Thursday January 10, 2019
Thursday January 10, 2019 Friday January 18, 2019 Monday February 11, 2019 Thursday February 7, 2019
Thursday January 31, 2019 Friday February 8, 2019 Monday March 11, 2019 Thursday February 21, 2019
Thursday February 28, 2019 Friday March 8, 2019 Monday March 25, 2019 Thursday March 21, 2019
    Monday April 15, 2019 Thursday April 4, 2019
Thursday April 18, 2019

Friday April 26, 2019

Monday May 13, 2019 Thursday April 18, 2019
      Thursday May 2, 2019


Submission guidelines:  **Please note the new email address for submission [at]**

  • Course Proposal/Revision Forms: to be submitted via Minerva and the completed PRN must be forwarded as a PDF (with all accompanying documents) to [at] Please submit all Course Revisions/Proposals with their attachments as one PDF.  Cover page must be the Minerva document.  **Please note if submitting via paper form please submit an editable WORD DOCUMENT to [at]
  • Note: Please do NOT use the "Display Printable PDF" button in Minerva.  To create a PDF of the PRN please select "print", and choose the "adobe PDF" as the printer.  Please save the document as: PRN Number_Complete (i.e. PRN 1234_Complete)
  • Program Proposal/Revision Forms: signed PDF and editable WORD DOCUMENT to be submitted to [at]  Please submit one PDF that includes all accompanying documents (i.e. department consultations, course requirements, etc.).  All signatures must be included.

All proposals must be received by the BCC submission deadline with ALL required signatures.  Proposals without signatures will not be reviewed. This allows time for proposals to be given a preliminary review and potential problems resolved. Late submissions will not be accepted.

For more guidance on where to find and how to complete the revision and proposal forms and for documents, please visit:



The Biomedical Curriculum Committee of the Faculty of Medicine includes the following dedicated members:

Biomedical Curriculum Committee Members

Dr. David Ragsdale Neurology & Neurosurgery Chair david.ragsdale [at]
Dr. Dana Anaby

School of Physical and Occupational Therapy


dana.anaby [at]

Dr. Robert Funnell

Biomedical Engineering


robert.funnell [at]

Dr. Sylvie Fournier

Microbiology & Immunology


sylvie.fournier [at]

Mrs. Norma Ponzoni

Nursing Member

norma.ponzoni [at]

Dr. Susanne Bechstedt

Anatomy & Cell Biology


susanne.bechstedt [at]

Dr. Jason Tanny Pharmacology & Therapeutics Member

jason.tanny [at]

Dr. Melissa Vollrath Physiology Member melissa.vollrath [at]

Faculty contact: [at]







 *A special thank you to the Faculty of Science for allowing us to use parts of their Academic Committee website*