MAUT Standing Committee on Non-Discrimination 2024-2025

Prepared by Andrea Farran, Chair May 14, 2025

Committee Members 2024-2025:

Andrea Farran, Chair (RELG) Raja Sengupta (GEOG) Ada Sinicore (EDUC) Narendra Subramanian (POLI)

<u>Fall 2025 Activities</u>: Chair reviewed all available MAUT records online regarding the activities of the committee and collated this history and reached out to the three committee members, who shared that the committee has not been highly active in recent years. Individual feedback and suggestions were solicited from each of the three members to understand faculty- and unit-specific experiences and noted recommendations.

<u>Winter 2025 Activities</u>: A group meeting was scheduled with the Chair and the three members. It was not possible for all members to meet simultaneously; the Chair had an individual zoom meeting with one member and a phone meeting with another member.

<u>Spring 2025 Activities</u>: Chair met with Nate Quitoriano, MAUT President, to discuss committee activities and recommendations for actions next year; responded to questionnaire from Fédération québécoise des professeures et professeurs d'université (FQPPU) on bias and harassment reporting at McGill.

Recommendations for next year:

- Liaise with AMPFA and other McGill teaching staff unions to understand how changes to non-discrimination resourcing at McGill may affect colleagues.
- Review changes with SEDE / OMR and other University bodies that address issues of workplace discrimination.
- Review any other relevant reporting mechanisms for 2025-2026 regarding workplace harassment issues to clarify any changes and update advice for colleagues.
- Increase visibility of the committee as a confidential resource for colleagues, enhance pathways for dialogue.
- Resolve to meet as a group at least per semester in 2025-2026.

Committee Membership for 2025-2026:

- Andrea Farran (myself), willing to serve as Chair for 2025-2026.
- Ada Sinicore and Narendra Subramanian are willing to serve in 2025-2026
- Raja Sengupta is willing to serve in Fall 2025; in Winter 2026 he will be on sabbatical so the Chair, in consultation with the Committee Members will attempt to recruit a new member to represent colleagues in the Faculty of Science.