Research Prizes in the Mathematical Sciences

Organization Name Description Link Due date
Canadian Mathematical Society Coxeter-James Prize Recognizes young mathematicians who have made outstanding contributions to mathematical research Coxeter-James Prize September 30
  Jeffery-Williams Prize Recognizes mathematicians who have made outstanding contributions to mathematical research Jeffery-Williams Prize September 30
  Krieger-Nelson Prize Recognizes outstanding research by a female mathematician Krieger-Nelson Prize September 30 

Cathleen Synge Morawetz Prize

For an author (or authors) of an outstanding research publication, or series of closely related publications on the same topic Cathleen Synge Morawetz Prize September 30
Canadian Mathematics Institutes Andre Aisenstadt Prize Recognizes talented young Canadian mathematicians Andre Aisentstadt Prize March 1
  CRM-Fields-PIMS Prize Recognizes exceptional achievement in the mathematical sciences CMS-Fields-PIMS Prize November 1
  ACP-CRM Prize in theoretical and mathematical physics Recognizes outstanding contributions to the advancement of the field. The main selection criterion is research excellence ACP-CRM Prize November 15
  CRM-SSC Prize in Statistics Canadian citizen or a permanent resident of Canada whose research was carried out primarily in Canada with 15 years of completion of PhD CRM-SSC Prize February 1
Statistical Society of Canada SSC Gold Medal Intended to honour a current leader in probability or statistics whose contributions in theory or in applied work have been substantial SSC Gold Medal January 31
  SSC Award for Impact of Applied and Collaborative Work For outstanding contributions in applied and collaborative work, the importance of which derives primarily from its relatively recent impact on a subject area outside of the statistical sciences, on an area of application, or on an organization SSC Impact Award January 31
  SSC Honorary Membership Honorary Membership in the SSC is intended to honour a probabilist or a statistician or in special circumstances another individual who made exceptional contributions to the development of the discipline SSC Honorary Membership January 31
  Lise Manchester Award The award recognizes excellence in state-of-the-art statistical work which considers problems of public interest and which are potentially useful for formation of Canadian public policy Lise Manchester Award February 15
Canadian Applied and Industrial Mathematics Society CAIMS/SCMAI Research Prize Recognizes innovative and exceptional research contributions in an emerging area of applied or industrial mathematics CAIMS/SCMAI Research Prize January 31
American Mathematical Society AMS Centennial Fellowship Makes awards annually to outstanding mathematicians to help further their careers in research; preference will be given to candidates who have not had extensive fellowship support in the past; a recipient of the fellowship shall have held his or her doctoral degree for at least three years and not more than twelve years at the inception of the award AMS Centennial Fellowship January 31
Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM): Prizes There are many prizes and special lectures sponsored by SIAM: see here for SIAM prizes SIAM Prizes October 15
Mathematical Programming Society Prizes The following prizes are awarded every three years at the tiennial Symposium of MPS (ISMP): see here for MSP prizes Mathematical Programming Society Deadlines vary per award. Please refer to the website.
Royal Society of Canada Synge Award

The award is given for outstanding research in any of the branches of the mathematical sciences

Synge Award March 
Shaw Prizes Shaw Prize in the Mathematical Sciences The Shaw Prize is an international award to honour individuals, regardless of race, nationality, gender and religious belief, who are currently active in their respective fields and who have recently achieved distinguished and significant advances, who have made outstanding contributions in academic and scientific research or applications, or who in other domains have achieved excellence. Shaw Prize November 30
Canadian Association of Physicists CAP-CRM Prize in Theoretical & Mathematical Physics The objective of this award is to recognize research excellence in the fields of theoretical and mathematical physics. CAP-CRM Prize February 28


Follow us on

Back to top