Coronavirus (COVID-19) updates

McGill's latest COVID-19 measures >>>>

Macdonald Campus's COVID-19 measures >>>>

Undergraduate Student Research Award (USRA) Poster Presentations

Save the date!

The 2021 USRA Poster Presentations will take place online on September 16, 2021 from 4PM-5PM

  • 28 AES undergraduate researchers
  • working in 9 AES departments and units
  • present their scientific posters
  • event will be followed by 30 minutes online for informal discussion/questions in multiple meeting rooms


2020 USRA Poster Event

Thursday, Sept 17, 2020 the Macdonald Campus Research Office hosted their first ever online Undergraduate Student Summer Research Poster Presentation event.  The poster event was led by Associate Dean Salwa Karboune. Principal Suzanne Fortier gave a great introduction that kick started our event.  

With the leadership of TLS presentation coach, Dr. Andrew Churchill, and support from McGill Office of Student Academic Services and the Lister Family Engaged Science Initiative, 21 undergraduate students wowed us with their research posters, lightening talks and Q & A responses. 

Dr. Kantha Shelke, Principal at Corvus Blue LLC, a contract food science and research firm, delivered an inspiring key note talk and generously contributed a copy of her book, Pasta and Noodles:  A Global History, in recognition of one of our four poster prize winners. 

Dean Anja Geitmann announced the winners before giving closing remarks. We were all pleasantly surprised at how engaging the online breakout room experience was in generating and sustaining meaningful conversation.  Judging by the smiles on everyone’s faces and the excitement in the researchers’ voices, everyone when home a winner!

First Place: Rowena Groeneveld  for Modelling of a ligand gated ion channel from Caenorhabditis elegans experimentally shown to bind dopamine. Supervised by Robin Beech, Parasitology.

Second Place: Jonathan Sangiovanni for Transcriptomic Profile of BaP in Japanese Quail and double-creted Cormorant. Supervised by Jessica Head, Natural Resource Sciences.

Third Place: Alexandra Kerasias for Gut microbial biotransformation and first pass metabolism of anthocyanins from purple potato digests:  A metabolomic approach to indentify bioavailable microbial anthocyanin metabolites. Supervised by Stan Kubow, School of Human Nutrition.

Fourth Place: Catherine Bergeron for Differentiation of Garlic cultivars Growing in Quebec Using Phenotypic and Genotypic Traits. Supervised by J.B. Charron, Plant Science.

Back to top