BLG cements relationship with Paul-André Crépeau Centre


Daniel Jutras, Lionel Smith, John Murphy, Neil Hazan and Robert Leckey

John G. Murphy and Neil Hazan (BCL/LLB'02) of Borden Ladner Gervais (BLG) visited the Faculty of Law on July 16 to deliver an instalment in the generous donation that the firm and its members are making to the Faculty’s Paul-André Crépeau Centre for Private and Comparative Law. BLG and its lawyers have pledged $400,000 (see announcement). They met with Dean Daniel Jutras, former Crépeau Centre director, professor Lionel Smith and incoming director, Professor Robert Leckey.

“We are extremely grateful to BLG, whose support helps some of the Centre’s initiatives, including a series of lectures and workshops on civil and common law, various research projects, and the creation of scholarships to support the work of doctoral and postdoctoral students,” reminded Dean Jutras.

About the Paul-André Crépeau Centre

Founded in 1975 by Professor Paul-André Crépeau, the Paul-André Crépeau Centre for Private and Comparative Law (formerly the Québec Research Centre of Private and Comparative Law) endeavours to promote the civilian tradition and develop it through a philosophy of openness to the lessons to be learned from other legal traditions.

The Crépeau Centre brings together legal scholars and academics from Quebec and abroad with a view to renewing the theoretical investigations of Quebec’s fundamental private law institutions.

About Borden Ladner Gervais  

Borden Ladner Gervais LLP (BLG), one of the biggest national full-service law firms, offers its clients solutions in matters concerning business law, commercial disputes, and intellectual property. With over 750 lawyers, intellectual property agents, and other professionals in six large Canadian cities, BLG meets its clients’ legal needs, from major litigation to financing and patent registration. For more information, visit

For information about the BLG gift and to inquire on how to make a major gift, see our page on how to Support the Faculty.

Pictured, left to right: Dean Daniel Jutras, Prof. Lionel Smith, John Murphy, Neil Hazan and Prof. Robert Leckey