Innovation Steering Committee

Innovation at McGill

The Conference Board of Canada has suggested that innovation can be thought of as “a process through which economic or social value is extracted from knowledge—through the creating, diffusing, and transforming of ideas—to produce new or improved products, services, processes, strategies, or capabilities.”  At McGill, our use of the term “innovation” is inclusive, embracing the development of scientific and technological solutions to market problems as well as novel approaches to meeting societal needs, to advancing the public good, and to adding to our collective culture in meaningful and enduring ways.

Innovation Steering Committee Mandate

The Innovation Steering Committee is mandated by the Vice-Principal, Research and International Relations, to make recommendations and implement plans designed to stimulate innovative and entrepreneurial activity among students, faculty and researchers in the McGill community and to support the successful translation of these endeavours into solutions benefitting society.  Consolidating an integrated innovation agenda, and fostering an associated shift in the University’s culture to embrace innovation and entrepreneurship are core to the mission of the Innovation Steering Committee. 

Innovation Steering Committee recommendations by subject:


Innovation Steering Committee Membership:


  • Prof. Peter Grutter, ISC Co-chair, Chair, Department of Physics, Faculty of Science
  • Prof. Steve Maguire, ISC Co-chair, Director, Marcel Desautels Institute for Integrated Management, Desautels Faculty of Management

Members with responsibility for administrative follow up on recommendations and their implementation:

  • Angelique Mannella, Associate Vice-Principal, Innovation and Partnership
  • Lea Cameron, Senior Advisor, Innovation Strategy


  • Prof. Mark Andrews, Department of Chemistry, Faculty of Science
  • Prof. Benoit Boulet, Associate Dean, Research & Innovation, Faculty of Engineering
  • Mr. Paul Chesser, Assistant Vice-Principal, University Advancement
  • Prof. Ollivier Dyens, Deputy Provost, Student Life and Learning
  • Prof. Tim Geary, Director, McGill Institute of Parasitology, Faculty of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
  • Prof. Josephine Nalbantoglu, Dean of Graduate and Postdoctoral Students
  • Prof. Pierre-Emmanuel Moyse, Faculty of Law
  • Prof. Doina Precup, Department of Computer Science, Faculty of Science
  • Prof. Dilson Rassier, Dean, Faculty of Education
  • Prof. Gordon Shore, Goodman Cancer Centre, Faculty of Medicine
  • Prof. Greg Vit, Dobson Centre for Entrepreneurship, Desautels Faculty of Management
  • Prof. Jason Carmichael, Faculty of Arts
  • Prof. Simon Aldrich, Schulich School of Music
  • Arisha Khan, SSMU Representative
  • Jacob Lavigne, PGSS Representative