Indigenous Faculty & Staff

A photo of Professor Mills, a man with long brown hair and a blue shirt, against a background of trees.

Aaron Mills named Canada Research Chair

Indigenous Constitutionalism and Philosophy

A photo of Professor Delormier, a woman with long black hair, against a brown background

Treena Delormier named Canada Research Chair

Indigenous Peoples' Nutrition and Food Sovereignty

For more news about faculty and staff at McGill, visit News/Events

McGill's Indigenous faculty and staff bring diverse experiences, skills, and expertise to the University. McGill recognizes the importance of work that draws on distinct and complex First Nations, Inuit, and Métis systems of knowledge, as well as building and sustaining relationships with Indigenous communities. 


Faculty of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences

  • Brittany Wenniserí:iostha Jock, Postdoctoral Researcher, School of Human Nutrition (Kanien’kehá:ka)
  • Treena Wasonti:io Delormier, Associate Professor, School of Human Nutrition (Kanien’kehá:ka)

Faculty of Arts

  • Chadwick Cowie, Faculty Lecturer, Department of Political Science (Anishinaabe)
  • Cindy Blackstock, Professor, School of Social Work (Gitksan)
  • Gabrielle Doreen, Faculty Lecturer, Indigenous Studies Program (Kanien’kehá:ka)
  • Gloria Bell, Assistant Professor, Department of Art History and Communication Studies (Métis)
  • James Crippen, Department of Linguistics (Tlingit)
  • Les Sabiston, Department of Anthropology (Métis)
  • Noelani Arista, Associate Professor and Director of Indigenous Studies, Department of History and Classics (Kanaka Maoli)
  • Wanda Gabriel, Assistant Professor, School of Social Work (Kanien’kehá:ka)
  • Yann Allard-Tremblay, Department of Political Science (Huron-Wendat)

Faculty of Education

  • Janine Metallic, Assistant Professor, Department of Integrated Studies in Education (Mi'kmaq)

Faculty of Law

  • Aaron Mills, Assistant Professor (Anishinaabe)
  • Kerry Sloan, Boulton Postdoctoral Fellow and Assistant Professor (Métis)

Faculty of Medicine

  • Alex McComber, Assistant Professor, Department of Family Medicine (Kanien’kehá:ka)
  • Kent Saylor, Director, Indigenous Health Curriculum Committee (Kanien’kehá:ka)
  • Richard Budgell, Professor of Practice (Inuk - Nunatsiavut)

Faculty of Science



Counselling Services

Enrolment Services

Faculty of Arts: Indigenous Studies Program

Faculty of Medicine: Indigenous Health Professions Program

First Peoples' House

Office of the Provost

First Peoples' House

School of Social Work: Indigenous Access McGill

  • Ben Geboe, Coordinator (Dakota)
Back to top