2011 Annual McGill Conference on International Aviation Liability & Insurance

Plaintiff lawyers: Michel Baumeister and Steve Pounian

Mrs and Mr Harold Caplan and Jim Kreindler

Thea Capone, Thomas McLaughlin and Ann Field

Philip Chrystal, Kathy Posner and Ram Jakhu

Paul Dempsey

Bruce Garrow and Ulla Norrhall

Michael Gill, George Leloudas, Alex Piera and Yaw Nyampong

Plaintiff Lawyers: Jim Kreindler, Mitch Baumeister and Stephan Eriksson

Mark Glynn and Maria D'Amico

Mrs. Isabelle Caplan

Rachel Pachoud and Patrick Schwomeyer

Yaw Nyampong and Ari Munisami

Yaw Nyampong

Nikolai Ehlers and Mr. and Mrs Alan Reitzfeld

Judith Nemsick and David Willcox

George Petsikas, Michael Gill, Mark Mackrell and Andrew Harakas

Steve Pounian and Gerald Sterns

Laura Safran, Rod Margo and Nikolai Ehlers

Speakers' dinner's sponsors

Mr. and Mrs Harold Caplan

Friday Lunch

Rod Margo and Lorne Clark

George Petsikas

Friday Lunch

Axelle Cartier, Stephan Eriksson and Diane Howard

Mrs. Caplan, Rachel Pachoud and Prof. Paul S. Dempsey





Maria D'Amico, Kenneth Quinn, Frank Manuhutu and Elizabeth Kiguta

Paul Dempsey, Andrew Harakas, Richard Cudahy and Steve Pounian

Emilie Mezi, Roderick van Dam and Isavella Vasilogeorgi

Ann Field, Ulla Norrhall and Judy Nemsick

Paul Fitzgerald, Noberto Luongo and Allan Mendelsohn

Bruce Garrow, Frank Manuhutu and Philip Chrystal

Michael Gill and Alex Piera

Stelios Gregoriou, Alexandra Paleta and Dimitri Nassios

Christa Hinckley, Alan Reitzfeld and Judith Nemsick

Hodjat Khadjavi and Axelle Cartier

IAWA members

IAWA members and fellows


George Leloudas, Stelios Gregoriou and Dimitri Maniatis

Mélanie Mulier, Rodrigo de la Puente and Isavella Vasilogeorgi

Michelle Ancona, Maria D'Amico, Yaw Nyampong and Alex Piera

Jeanne O'Grady and her husband

Patrick Schwomeyer and his wife


Francis Schubert, Brian Dawe and Jiri Hornik


Emilie Mezi, Jennifer Schwomeyer, Mélanie Mulier, Paul Dempsey, Martin Pelletier and Greta Bruns

Roderick van Dam, Axelle Cartier, John Balfour and Frank Manuhutu

Alice Vorbeck and Gerald Sterns

Mr. and Mrs Thomas Whalen

For pictures of the social events and networking, click on the slide show above. For pictures of the panels, click on each panel.

This event brought together world-leading aviation liability and insurance experts to address the following topics

• Recent Developments in Aviation Liability and Insurance
• Recovery of Non-Economic Damages
• Unruly Passengers and Liability for Acts of Unlawful Interference
• Jurisdiction & Forum Non Conveniens
• Liability of Manufacturers of Aircraft, Engines & Component Parts
• Comparative Interpretations of the Montreal Convention of 1999 and their Impact on Airlines, Manufacturers, Insurers & Claimants
• Disputes Between Insurers and Reinsurers
• Lessors’ Liability Exposure

The event also featured four simulations

• Moot Court Pretrial Motion
• Moot Trial
• Mock Mediation
• Moot Court Appellate Argument
The fact pattern on which the four simulations are based will cover key complex contemporary legal issues.

In addition, the conference hosted luncheons and a cocktail reception to facilitate networking among attorneys, insurers, air carriers, manufacturers and governmental representatives. this is the third annual conference on this subject organized by the McGill University Institute of Air & Space Law. Prior conferences were held in Montreal in 2009 and Amsterdam in 2010.


16:30 – 18:00 Registration: Hilton Montréal Bonaventure


7:00 – 8:45 Registration

8:45 – 9:00 Welcoming Remarks - Prof. Paul Stephen Dempsey [.pdf] (McGill University, Institute of Air & Space Law, Montreal)

9:00 – 10:30 Recent Developments in Aviation Liability & Insurance

10:30 – 10:50 Refreshment Break - Sponsored by Holland & Knight LLP and Aéroports de Montréal

10:50 – 12:00 A Pre-Trial Moot Court Argument on Forum Non Conveniens

12:00 – 13:30 Lunch - Sponsored by Air Canada and Condon & Forsyth
Keynote Address : Georges Petsikas [.pdf] (President, National Airlines Council of Canada, Montreal) Keynote Speech [.pdf]

13:30 – 15:30 Mock Mediation

15:30 – 15:50 Refreshment break - Sponsored by Fraser Milner Casgrain LLP

15:50 – 17:00 Roundtable Discussion: Comparative Interpretations of the Warsaw/Montreal Conventions & Aircraft Lessors’ Liability Exposure

17:15 – 19:00 Cocktail Reception: Salle Portage, Hilton Montréal Bonaventure - Sponsored by Air Transat and Speiser, Krause, Nolan & Granito


8:15 – 8:30 Introductory Remarks Kenneth Quinn [.pdf] (Pillsbury Winthrop, Washington, DC)

8:30 – 11:10 Moot Trial

11:10 – 11:30 Refreshment Break - Sponsored by Borden Ladner Gervais LLP
11:30 – 12:30 Passenger Rights

12:30 – 14:00 Lunch - Sponsored by Clyde & Co LLP and EUROCONTROL
Keynote Address : Harold Caplan [.pdf] (Quadrant Chambers, London)

14:00 – 15:00 Recovery of Non-Economic Damages

15:00 – 16:00 Unruly Passengers and Liability for Acts of Unlawful Interference

16:00 – 16:20 Refreshment Break - Sponsored by Bersenas LLP and White & Case

16:20 – 17:30 Moot Court Appellate Argument

17:30 Concluding Remarks - Prof. Paul Stephen Dempsey [.pdf] (McGill University, Institute of Air And Space Law, Montreal)

Back to top