CGPS.13.24

#### **Council of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies**

Minutes of the meeting of the CGPS held on Monday, December 16, 2013, 2:30 pm James Administration Building, Room 301

#### Attendance:

*Officers:* Martin Kreiswirth (Chair) Mona Sharafi-Razvand (Committee Secretary Assistance)

Elected Members:

Benoît Coté, Elaine Weiner, Roger Cue, France Bouthillier, Jeff Gostick, Louis Houle, Josephine Nalbantoglu, David Wolfson, Greg Brown, Bettina Kemme, Peter Grutter, Maggie Do Couto and Mohammad Hajizadeh

*Ex-Officio:* Jean-Jacques Lebrun and Heather Goad

Regrets: Simon Tran, Nancy Czemmel, Isabelle Rouiller, Peter Schubert and Patricia Kirkpatrick

*Absent:* Ned Schantz, Kristin Norget, Nathaniel Quitoriano, Saibal Ray, Derek Bowie, Laura Nilson, Eleanor Stubley, Lissa Matyas, Adam Bouchard, Yuhan Ma, Giselle Boukhaled, Emily Yung, Susana Gabriela Torres Plata and Moksha Serrano

*Guests:* Kathleen Massey and Ali Jahanbani Ardakani

# Order was called at 2:35 pm

Dean Kreiswirth welcomed Professor Elaine Weiner, new Council member from the Faculty of Arts and proceeded with a round table introduction of all the members.

# 122 Adoption of the Agenda

The agenda was not approved due to a lack of quorum.

# 123 Approval of Minutes

Minutes of the meeting of November 18, 2013

The minutes of the November 18, 2013 meeting were not approved due to a lack of quorum.

#### 124 Business Arising

# 125 New Business: For approval

Dean Kreiswirth invited Professor Elaine Weiner from the Department of Sociology to briefly present the program revisions of M.A. in Sociology (Appendix A, B, C and D). She explained that due to the need for a formal mechanism to "socialize" students within the department into the discipline, the programs were revised in order to reflect the addition of a required, year-long Professional Development Seminar in Sociology for all incoming graduate students to address the programmatic 'gap'. In addition, GPS had requested that the MA thesis programs get reduced to conform to Quebec higher education mandates that requires them to total 45 credits. In consequence, the department of Sociology proposes to remove the course SOCI 692 from the following programs:

a)	M.A. in Sociology – Appendix A	CGPS.13.25
b)	M.A. in Sociology; Development Studies – Appendix B	CGPS.13.26
c)	M.A. in Sociology; Medical Sociology - Appendix C	CGPS.13.27
d)	M.A. in Sociology; Gender and Women's Studies –Appendix D	CGPS.13.28

Dean Kreiswirth and Professor Weiner explained to the members of Council that although there are few students in each concentration, students writing their thesis want to receive recognition with these add-ons. Furthermore, the programs with concentrations are not excessively different from the general program, which in consequence, allows students in the general program to consider the concentration later in their studies.

# Due to a lack of quorum, no motion was passed at the meeting. The vote will be taken electronically.

For Information:

e)	SCTP Summary Report 5 – New, Revised and Retired Courses	CGPS.13.29
f)	SCTP Summary Report 5 – Revised Programs	CGPS.13.30

Both documents were presented for information to members.

#### 126 Councilor's Forum

No items were submitted for discussion under this section.

# 127 Other Business

- g) Award for Excellence in Service to Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies Selection Committee
- h) Carrie M. Derick Award for Graduate Teaching and Supervision Selection Committee
- i) David Thomson Award for Graduate Supervision and Teaching Selection Committee

Dean Kreiswirth briefly described the three annual GPS Awards to the members of Council. He provided details on the composition of the awards committee and requested one volunteer to sit on the committee for the Award for Excellence in Service to Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies. Dean Kreiswirth suggested Louis Houle to represent Council on the Committee. Dr. Houle accepted the nomination.

Dean Kreiswirth proceeded by requesting for another two volunteers for the Carrie M. Derick Award and the David Thomson Award. Professor Gregory Brown and Professor France Bouthillier volunteered to sit on the David Thomson Award committee. The members of Council suggested selecting the volunteers for Carrie M. Derick Award from the list of members missing at the meeting. Dean Kreiswirth agreed to send a call for volunteers electronically to the absent members.

# There being no further business, all were in favour to adjourn the meeting at 3:04 p.m.