1

COUNCIL OF GRADUATE AND POSTDOCTORAL STUDIES (CGPS)

Date: Monday, January 16, 2023

Time: 2:30 p.m. to 4:30 p.m.

For meeting attendance list, please see last page.

<u>Guest(s):</u>

On Zoom

Maria Di Feo, Graduate Program Director, M.Sc. A. Nursing Amanda Doran, Academic Programs Officer, Ingram School of Nursing

Order was called at 2:33 p.m.

Dean Nalbantoglu confirmed quorum.

1.0 Adoption of the Agenda

Motion was made by Fackson Mwale and seconded by Roe-Min Kok to adopt the agenda. Motion carried.

2.0 Approval of previous Minutes of Meeting

Motion was made by Eli MacLaren, and seconded by Stéphanie Chevalier, to approve the minutes of the meeting held on Monday, December 12, 2022. Motion carried.

Business Arising

None

For Approval

3.0 Major Revisions to Graduate Programs:

3.1 M.Sc. A. in Nursing: Global Health- Direct Entry (non-thesis) (61 credits)

Presented by: Maria Di Feo and Amanda Doran, Ingram School of Nursing

Professor Maria Di Feo and Ms. Amanda Doran presented on major revisions affecting the M.Sc. (Applied) Non-Thesis Global Health program. These include a change in name and an increase in the program's credit weight. Due to an administrative error in 2019, these changes were not previously updated in the eCalendar. Since there are two programs with a Global Health focus, the addition of "Direct Entry" to the title will enable prospective students to make the distinction between both. The Ingram School of Nursing is also seeking to increase the number of credits from 58 to 61 through the addition of two courses, NUR2 619 Nursing Clinical Skills Laboratory 4 (1 credit), and NUR2 621 Wound Care 2 (2 credits).

CGPS Discussion:

- A Council member inquired about the meaning of Global Health and whether it refers specifically to non-western settings. The presenter clarified that it refers to underserved populations at the national, international, and provincial levels.
- Dean Nalbantoglu explained that when this revision is passed, the administrative error will have been corrected and the program will then be described correctly in the e-Calendar.
- Dean Nalbantoglu asked about the number of terms in the program. Students complete 8 semesters.
- A Council member asked about the Qualifying Year and whether the program has all the clinical and medical components needed. The proposer explained that students have a clinical practicum after 8 semesters. In addition, the program already has numerous strict prerequisites in which students must have completed science courses such as physiology, biology, and statistics in order to be considered for admission. Students admitted into the Qualifying Year have foundational courses, laboratory assessments, placements, and a clinical practicum.

CGPS-AGD_2023.01.16 adopt the agenda. Motion

CGPS-MoM_2022.12.12

CGPS-MRP-NURGHDE_R00

MINUTES OF MEETING Doc. #: CGPS-MoM_2023.01.16



Doc. #: CGPS-MoM_2023.01.16

On Zoom

COUNCIL OF GRADUATE AND POSTDOCTORAL STUDIES (CGPS) Date: Monday, January 16, 2023

Time: 2:30 p.m. to 4:30 p.m.

- The proposer added that although they are trying to increase admissions, they currently have approximately 20-25 new students per year.
- A Council member asked about the qualifying year and about the OIIQ exam that students may complete at the end of the program. In Engineering, accreditation of a program means students do not complete an exam. Dean Nalbantoglu explained that students must write the OIIQ exam if they want to be nurses, but it is not required if they choose to continue their career in nursing administration.

Motion was made by Jean-Benoit Charron and seconded Fackson Mwale, to approve the program. The new program was approved with 21 votes (0 abstain, 0 against). It will be reported to SCTP for approval.

For Information

4.0 For Information:

4.1 Report #5

CGPS-RPTP_2023.01.16

Minor/Moderate Revisions and Program Retirement [including Low Enrolment/Obsolete].

Councillors' forum

None

Other Business

5.0 Volunteers needed for GPS Awards

Dean Nalbantoglu asked for volunteers to review the dossiers of the nominees for the upcoming Carrie M. Derick Award for Graduate Supervision and Teaching, David Thomson Award for Graduate Supervision and Teaching, and the Award for Excellence in Service. Each committee is composed of an academic representative from Council, a TLS representative and a PGSS representative. The Dean also shared the website where the winners and nominees are showcased. Dossiers will be shortly sent out to the committee members reviewing the nominees, for decisions to be made in late February or early March.

There being no further business, all were in favor to adjourn the meeting at 3:00 p.m.

Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies

MINUTES OF MEETING

Doc. #: CGPS-MoM_2023.01.16

On Zoom

COUNCIL OF GRADUATE AND POSTDOCTORAL STUDIES (CGPS) Date: Monday, January 16, 2023

Time: 2:30 p.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Q*	Name	Faculty/Departement	Present	Regrets	Absen
1	Eli MacLaren	Arts	х		
2	Eran Shor	Arts			x
3	Jason Opal	Arts			х
4	Fackson Mwale	Medicine and Health Sciences	х		
5	Isabelle Gélinas	Medicine and Health Sciences		х	
6	Pierre Moffatt	Medicine and Health Sciences	х		
7	Andrew Cumming	Science	х		
8	Barbel Knauper	Science	х		
9	Bernhard Lehner (interim)	Science	х		
10	Jean-Benoit Charron	Agricultural, Environmental & Science	х		
11	Stéphanie Chevalier	Agricultural, Environmental & Science	х		
12	Chiaki Konishi (interim)	Education	х		
13	Benoit Gentil (interim)	Education	x		
14	Jinhyuk Lee	Engineering	х		
15	Theodora Vardouli	Engineering	х		
16	Monzur Murshed	Dentistry	х		
17	Bianca Bourgeois (interim)	Law	х		
18	Samer Faraj	Management		X	
19	Roe-Min Kok (interim)	Music	х		
21	María Sierra Córdoba Serrano	School of Continuing Studies			х
21	Hossein Poorhemati	Secretary-General - PGSS (delegate)	X		
22	Claire Elizabeth Adams	Postdoctoral fellow	X		
23	Sogo Adegboyega	Graduate Student - AES	x		
24	TBA	Graduate Student - Arts			
25	Ali Taqvi	Graduate Student - Med and Hlth Sci	х		
26	ТВА	Graduate Student - Law			
-	April Colosimo	Libraries (ex-officio)	X		
-	Benoit Boulet (for Martha Crago)	Vice-Principal (Research and Innovation) (ex-officio) (delegate)	X		
-	Carolyn Samuel (for Laura Winer)	Director - TLS (ex-officio)	х		
		Members with voice but no vote		-	
-	Josephine Nalbantoglu	Dean of GPS - Chair	х		
-	Lorraine Chalifour	Associate Dean - GPS	х		
-	Nathan Hall	Associate Dean - GPS	х		
-	Russell Steele	Associate Dean - GPS	x		
-	Elisa Pylkkanen	Director - GPS	x		
-	Chloe Garcia	Manager, Academic Programs - GPS	x		
-	ТВА	Academic Programs Officer - GPS			
-	Cindy Smith	SCTP Secretary		X	
-	Marie-Josée Chapleau (interim)	Committee Secretary	X		