The winning student presentations from 2021-2022 joint Experimental Surgery & IRR Seminar Series

  1st Place Winner 2nd Place Winner 3rd Place Winner
PhD Student

Ida Derish
"Preliminary Study of Patient-Specific Stem Cell-Derived Cardiomyocytes and Differences in Their Responses to Hypoxic Injury: The Heart in a Dish Study"

Recai Yilmaz
"Development and Validation of an Intelligent Surgical Technical Skills Continuous Monitoring and Assessment System"

Kyla Vanessa Bourque
"Single-cell Profiling of Signalling Networks in Primary Neonatal and iPSC-derived Cardiomyocytes"

MSc Thesis Student







Oliver Wu Martinez
"Synergistic Effects of Senolytic Combination Reduces Intervertebral Disc Degeneration"







Sean Jeffries
"A Novel Bariatric-Specific Laparoscopic Simulator"

Eleane Hamburger
"Targeting Senescent Cancer Cells Using Senolytic Drugs To Prevent Breast-To-Bone Metastasis"

Francisco Javier Reyna Sepulveda
"Effect of Transcranial Direct Current Stimulation on Surgical Skills Acquisition and Retention"


2020-2021 Experimental Surgery & IRR Seminar Series Student Presentation Awards

We are pleased to announce the winning student presentations from last year’s joint Experimental Surgery & IRR Seminar Series. The winners are as follows:

  1st Place Winner 2nd Place Winner 3rd Place Winner
PhD Student

Matthew Mannarino
“Toll-Like Receptor 2 Induced Senescence in Intervertebral Disc Cells of Patients with Back Pain can be Attenuated by o-Vanillin”

Xuan Li
“Biomechanically Instructive Hydrogels for Nucleus Pulposus (NP) Repair and Regeneration”

Atma Adoungotchodo
“Chitosan-Based Hydrogels Supplemented with Gelatin and Link N for Intervertebral Disc Repair”
MSc Thesis Student
Yazan Honjol
“Acute Compartment Syndrome: In Vivo Models Using a Novel Pressure Sensor”

Charbel El-Kefraoui
“Opioid versus opioid-free analgesia after surgical discharge: A systematic review and meta-analysis”

Ida Derish
“Secretome Derived from Amniotic Mesenchymal Stem Cell Spheroids Boosts Angiogenesis for Cardiovascular Repair”
MSc Non-Thesis Student
Mackenzie Gold
“The Role of Periostin in Osteoarthritis”

Mostafa Siddiqui
“Understanding Force Applications at the Tumor - White Matter Interface”

Dheeksha Reddy
“Inclusion of Residential school trauma (RST)during mental health assessments to study the impacts on current generation among First Nation communities”

We also wish to recognize Ovi Ciobanu and Ida Derish for their outstanding questions and engagement with the students’ talks. All those recognized will be awarded for their efforts this past year.

We also extend our gratitude to the faculty judges, who are Dr. Julio Fiore, Dr. Rahul Gawri, Dr. Fackson Mwale, and Dr. Joshua Vorstenbosch, as well as coordinators Micha Huynh and Adriana Sgambetterra for organizing the judging process.

Back to top