Office of the Dean

Victoria TalwarDr. Victoria Talwar is the Interim Dean of the Faculty of Education. Dr. Talwar is a James McGill Professor and held the Tier II Canada Research Chair in Forensic Developmental Psychology from 2012-2022. She is a Professor in the Department of Educational and Counselling Psychology, as well as having served as Chair of the department. She is an accomplished scholar widely recognized for her work in developmental psychology and law. Dr. Talwar’s innovative interdisciplinary research on children’s verbal deception, moral development and child witness competency issues has informed current debates about children’s social-cognitive development and has contributed to legal reform in Canada. Her teaching and supervision have been recognized through several awards including the Northeastern Association of Graduate Schools Teaching (Doctoral level) Award and McGill University’s David Thomson Award for Graduate Supervision and Teaching. Prof. Talwar holds a PhD in Developmental Psychology from Queen's University, and a Master’s degree in Psychology from the University of St. Andrews.


Dr. Sheryl Smith-GilmanDr. Sheryl Smith-Gilman is the Associate Dean, Academic Programs. She is responsible for the governance of academic programs across the Faculty, and coordinating and facilitating the monitoring, evaluation, and development of academic programs, including both undergraduate and graduate studies.

Dr. Smith-Gilman of the Department of Integrated Studies in Education (DISE) steps into her new role, having been Assistant Director of Undergraduate Teacher Education Programs for the past seven years and as a longstanding Faculty member and mentor to students and colleagues. She has spearheaded various French Immersion teacher education initiatives within the Faculty and has been called upon as an expert on the topics of early childhood education, Indigenous cultural approaches in teaching, and teaching and learning through the arts. Aside from her work at the Faculty, Dr. Smith-Gilman has helped shape Quebec education as a pedagogical consultant to the Quebec Ministry préscolaire committees, as an authority on the Reggio Emilia approach in preschool and primary school settings, and as an author of several journal articles and book chapters in her areas of teaching and research.


Marie-Hélène PennestriDr. Marie-Hélène Pennestri is the Associate Dean, Research and Innovation. In this role she is responsible for facilitating the ongoing development of successful research programs, as well as supporting new initiatives that promote the Faculty as an innovative leader in all facets of education and human development.

Dr. Pennestri is a respected faculty member with the Department of Educational and Counselling Psychology, specializing in the development of the sleep-wake cycle in healthy infants and preschoolers as well as investigating associations between sleep and mental health in vulnerable populations and the effects on family. Being Principal Investigator on multiple grants across all three tri-councils (SSHRC, CIHR and NSERC) Dr. Pennestri is bringing exceptional skills and unique insight to her new position. A clinical psychologist (Ordre des Psychologues du Québec), Dr. Pennestri is a regular researcher Research Center of Hôpital en santé mentale Rivière-des-Prairies (CIUSSS-NIM) and was featured as a woman of inspiration by the organization. A William Dawson Scholar and Adjunct Professor at Université de Montréal's Department of Psychology, Dr. Pennestri has been lauded as an educator and mentor and was presented with the Faculty's Award for Distinguished Teaching in June 2021.


Dr. Caroline Paquette's headshotDr. Caroline Paquette is the Associate Dean, Administration. Dr. Paquette will facilitate strategic planning for infrastructure and administrative operations within the Faculty of Education.

Dr. Paquette is an Associate Professor in the Department of Kinesiology and Physical Education. Her research with the Human Brain Control of Locomotion Lab focuses on how the human brain controls walking, exploring the mechanisms of gait in healthy populations, aging, and pathology using behavioral and neuroimaging techniques.


The Dean's Office Administrative and Support Staff:

Simona Lupu
Human Resources Advisor
Tel.: (514) 398-5129   Fax: (514) 398-1527   simona.lupu [at] (Email)

Franca Mancuso
Senior Accounts Administrator, Finance
Tel.: (514) 398-4455 x00800   Fax: (514) 398-4679   franca.mancuso [at] (Email)

David Maris
Senior Administrative Coordinator & Deputy Building Director
Tel.: (514) 398-7037 david.maris [at] (Email)

Allyson Noftall
Senior Advisor to the Dean
Tel.: (514) 398-7039   allyson.noftall [at] (Email)

Ali Remondini
Development Officer
Tel.: (438) 349-9276   alexandra.remondini [at] (Email)

Andee Shuster
Marketing and Communications Officer
Tel.: (514) 398-2712   andee.shuster [at] (Email)

Ariel Swan
Director of Development
Tel.: (514) 617-9324   ariel.swan [at] (Email)

Donna Wilkinson
Senior Administrative Coordinator
Tel.: (514) 398-7037   donna.wilkinson [at] (Email)

Kathy Woo
Finance Officer
Tel.: (514) 398-7349 Fax: (514) 398-4679 kathy.woo [at] (Email)

Marc Wrobel
Communications and Publications Coordinator
Tel.: (514) 398-5112 marc.wrobel [at] (Email)




Back to top