2014-2015 Seminars

(The information below is subject to change. Please check back closer to the event date for more details.)

Winter 2015

February 2015 Speaker and Title Organizer
Friday, Feb. 20
3:30, L429
Achyuta Adhvaryu (U. of Michigan)
"Management and Shocks to Worker Productivity: Evidence from Air Pollution Exposure in an Indian Garment Factory"
F. Lange
March 2015 Speaker and Title Organizer
Friday, Mar. 13
3:30, L429
Charles Zheng (University of Western Ontario)
"Military Moral Hazard and the Fate of Empires"
R. Dutta
Friday, Mar. 20
1:30, L429
Kevin Lang (Boston University)
“Does Competition Eliminate Discrimination? Evidence from the Commercial Sex Market in Singapore”
F. Lange
Friday, Mar. 27
3:30, L429
Christopher Ksoll (University of Ottawa)
“The Impact of Education on Preferences: Evidence from a Combined Laboratory and Field Experiment in India”
M. Chemin/S. Laszlo
April 2015 Speaker and Title Organizer
Friday, Apr. 10
10:30, L429
Joseph Altonji (Yale)
"Group-Average Observables as Controls for Sorting on Unobservables When Estimating Group Treatment Effects: the Case of School and Neighborhood Effects"
F. Lange
Friday, Apr. 17
10:30, L429
Huan Xie (Concordia University)
"Why Do People Give? Testing Pure and Impure Altruism"
J. Li
Wed, Apr. 22
3:30, L429
Emmanuel Guerre (University of London, Queen Mary College)
"Parametric and Nonparametric Quantile Regression Methods for First-Price Auctions: A Signal Approach"
J-M Dufour
Friday, Apr. 24
10:30, L429
Daniel Rosenblum (Dalhousie)
"Does Access to Credit Reduce Excess Female Mortality in India?"
M. Chemin, S. Laszlo
May 2015 Speaker and Title Organizer
Friday, May 1
3:30, L429
Lee Lockwood (Northwestern University)
"Means-Tested Old Age Support and Private Behavior: Evidence from the Old Age Assistance Program"
D. Barczyk
Monday, May 4
3:30, L429
Alexis Akira Toda (UC San Diego)
"Discretizing Stochastic Processes with Exact Conditional Moments"
F. Ruge-Murcia
Friday, May 8
12:00, L429
Henry Siu (U. of British Columbia)
"What Should I Be When I Grow Up? Occupations and Unemployment over the Life Cycle"
T. Papageorgiou

Fall 2014

September 2014 Speaker and Title Organizer
Friday, Sep. 5
3:30, L429
Xiao Luo (National University Singapore)
"Rationalizability in General Situations"
General
Friday, Sep. 12
1:30, L429
Nathaniel Baum-Snow (Brown University)
"Why Has Urban Inequality Increased?"
F. Lange
Friday, Sep. 19
3:30, L429
Kim Lehrer (U. de Sherbrooke)
"Peer Effects and Group Assignment Rules: Non-Parametric Evidence from a Framed Field Experiment"
M. Chemin
Friday, Sep. 26
3:30, L429
Laurence Kotlikoff (BU)
"Assessing Fiscal Sustainability"
M. Poschke
Friday, Sep. 26
3:30, BRONF 179
Ivana Komunjer (University of California at San Diego)
"Existence and Characterization of Conditional Density Projections"
Montreal Econometrics Seminar
M. Carrasco, V. Zinde-Walsh
October 2014 Speaker and Title Organizer
Friday, Oct.3
3:30, L429
Johannes Haushofer (MIT)
"Household Response to Income Changes: Evidence from an Unconditional Cash Transfer Program in Kenya"
M. Chemin, S. Laszlo
Friday, Oct. 10
3:30, L429
Kory Kroft (UofT)
“Optimal Income Taxation with Involuntary Unemployment: A Sufficient Statistics Approach”
F. Lange
Friday, Oct. 17
3:30, L429
Kristy Buzard (Syracuse University)
"Endogenous Politics and the Design of Trade Institutions"
R. Dutta
Friday, Oct. 17
1:30, L429
Christian Bontemps (ENAC & Toulouse School of Economics)
“Identification and Estimation of Incentive Contracts under Asymmetric Information: An Application to the French Water Sector”
Montreal Econometrics Seminar
J-M Dufour
Friday, Oct. 24
3:30, L429
Pierre Thomas Leger (HEC Montreal)
"Physician Practice Style and Healthcare Costs: Evidence from Emergency Departments?"
TBA
Friday, Oct. 31
12:00, L738
Loukas Karabarbounis (U. of Chicago: Booth School of Business)
"Productivity and Capital Allocation in Europe"
CIREQ Macro Seminar
F. Alvarez-Cuadrado, M. Poschke
November 2014 Speaker and Title Organizer
Friday, Nov. 7
3:30, L429
Kaywana Raeburn
"The Effect of School Damages on Educational Outcomes in Post-Hurricane Jamaica"
Job Market Practice Talk
TBA
Friday, Nov. 14
11:30, BRONF 179
Ken Chay (Brown U.) F. Lange
Friday, Nov. 21
3:30, L429
Elena Pastorino (U. of Minnesota)
"Careers in Firms: Estimating a Model of Job Assignment, Learning, and Human Capital Acquisition"
T. Papageorgiou
Friday, Nov. 28
3:30, L429
Kota Saito (CalTech)
"Testable Implications of Models of Intertemporal Choice: Exponential Discounting and Its Generalizations"
(joint with Federico Echenique and Taisuke Imai)
J. Li
December 2014 Speaker and Title Organizer
Friday, Dec. 5
3:30, L429
Michael Burda (Humboldt University Berline)
"Payroll Taxes, Social Insurance and Business Cycles"
TBA