Desautels Management Achievement Awards (DMAA) 2022

The Future of Responsible Business

The 42nd Desautels Management Achievement Awards (DMAA) Ceremony & Panel took place on Friday, February 4, 2022.

This year’s event was held virtually, brought together our global community to celebrate the achievements of industry leaders who have demonstrated a career of great achievement and commitment to the future of responsible business.

Management Achievement Award

The Achievement Award is presented to individuals who serve as role models for students in their education, career, and philanthropic contributions.

Maria EitelMaria Eitel (BA’84)
Founder, NIKE Foundation, and Founder Chair Emeritus, Girl Effect

Monika Ille Monika Ille (EMBA’20)
CEO, Aboriginal Peoples Television Network (APTN)

Lifetime Achievement Award

Each year, the Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition for exceptional philanthropic and economic impact on the Canadian economy. In addition to their achievements, their personal narrative of displaying perseverance and resilience serves as a source of inspiration for the students in attendance.

Patrick OdierPatrick Odier
Senior Managing Partner, Lombard Odier Group

Brian J. PorterBrian J. Porter
President and CEO, Scotiabank

Brian Porter assumed the role of Scotiabank’s Chief Executive Officer on November 1, 2013. Prior to becoming CEO, Mr. Porter served as the bank’s Chief Risk Officer, Group Head of Risk and Treasury, and Group Head of International Banking. He joined the Bank in 1981.

Learn more

Mr. Porter is also Chair of the University Health Network (UHN) Board of Trustees and his current board memberships include the Council of the Americas and The BlackNorth Initiative. Most recently, Mr. Porter assumed the role of Chair of the Board of Governors of Huron University College at Western University. Mr. Porter previously served as Vice Chairman and Treasurer of the Washington-based Institute of International Finance (IIF).

Mr. Porter earned a B.Comm. from Dalhousie University, and has been awarded an Honorary Doctor of Laws (LLD) from Dalhousie University (2008) and Ryerson University (2018). He is a graduate of the Advanced Management Program of the Harvard Business School.

Young Inspiration Award

This new award is meant to reward young leaders that have had emerged and prove to be successful despite their young age. It is also meant to bridge the gap between the usual recipients’ experience and our students, so they can see an evolution in terms of what their career might look like.

Meagan PrinsMeagan Prins (BCom’17)
Investment Associate, Quona, and Co-Founder and Board Chair, PennyDrops

Ms. Prins graduated from McGill with a Bachelor of Commerce, Honours in Investment Management and Minor in Economics.

She won the Desautels Leadership Scholarship (among other awards) and was a Rhodes Scholarship Finalist, demonstrative of her academic excellence, leadership, and moral force of character. She is also a former Executive Director of the DMAA.

Learn more

Ms. Prins started her career in Investment Banking at Goldman Sachs in New York, covering insurance and fintech clients. During her time there, she co-founded Zua Microfinance, a not-for-profit fintech that provides microinsurance to low-income female farmers.

Notably, in 2014, she co-founded and led the not-for-profit organization PennyDrops and has since stayed involved as board member and co-chair. PennyDrops is one of the country’s most eminent organizations addressing the growing issue of financial illiteracy in Canadian youth, having served over 17,000 students since inception. In 2018, Ms. Prins took on an emerging markets private equity role at the International Finance Corporation, World Bank Group. Currently, she is working as an investment associate at Quona Capital where she invests in leading fintech startups in emerging markets.

Learn more about the DMAA and past winners >

Back to top