APPENDIX 4 Honours, Awards and Prizes January 1, 2017 to December 31, 2017

FACULTY STAFF

Allergy and Immunology

Dr. Phil Gold received the Einstein Legacy Award.

Cardiology

Gordon Crelinsten received the MUHC Department of Medicine Department of Medicine Physicianship Award.

Matthias Friedrich has been elected President of the Society for Cardiovascular Magnetic Resonance.

Ariane Marelli is President of the Canadian Adult Congenital Heart Network.

Lawrence Rudski served as President of the Canadian Society of Echocardiography.

George Thanassoulis received the MUHC Department of Medicine Early Career Staff Research Award.

Mathieu Walker has been selected for the Faculty of Medicine Honour List for Educational Excellence.

Center for Medical Education

Meredith Young has been selected as the 2017 recipient of the Canadian Association for Medical Education's (CAME) Meridith Marks New Educator Award.

Clinical Epidemiology

Nancy Mayo is the 2017 recipient of the President's Award from the International Society of Quality of Life (ISOQOL).

Nitika Pant Pai was distinguished twice in The Economist; named among the 18 HCV innovators recognized by Change Makers and one of six honorees selected for a Q&A in November.

Critical Care

Sabah Hussain received the MUHC Department of Medicine Staff Research Award.

Dermatology

Mathieu Powell received the Canadian Dermatology Association Excellence in Clinical Teaching Award.

Endocrinology and Metabolism

Natasha Garfield and the **MUHC Diabetes Transition Team** received the MUHC Department of Medicine Award for Innovation in Clinical Care or Quality.

David Goltzman was awarded the Henry Friesen Award sponsored by the Canadian Society for Clinical Investigation (CSCI) and the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada (RCPSC).

Richard Kremer received the Catherine Coyne Memorial Fellowship Award and was nominated to the CIHR College of Reviewers and as Fellow of the Royal Society of Medicine (UK).

Vanessa Tardio received the award for the best MUHC Endocrine Rounds.

Gastroenterology

Carlo Fallone was the recipient of Teacher of the Year award in Gastroenterology.

Kevin Waschke was elected as President-elect of the Canadian Association of Gastroenterology.

General Internal Medicine

Amal Bessissow received the MUHC Department of Medicine Douglas G. Kinnear Award for outstanding clinician-teacher at the MGH.

Ruxandra Bunea received the 2017 Internal Medicine Transition to Clinical Practice Teaching Award.

Stella Daskalopoulou is the laureate of the 2017 John J. Day Award of Excellence by Heart & Stroke Foundation of Quebec.

Susan Kahn was named "Grands noms de la médecine au Québec» by the Fédération des médecins specialistes du Québec.

Emily Gibson McDonald received the 2017 Canadian Society of Internal Medicine New Investigator Award.

Cristina Mindru and the Stroke Team at the MNI won the Cuvée 2017 PRIX Profession Santé.

Joyce Pickering received the MUHC Department of Medicine Physician-in-Chief Award.

Louise Pilote is one of two recipients of the Berlin Institute of Health (BIH) Excellence Award for Sex and Gender Aspects in Health Research.

Ernesto Schiffrin has been selected as the 2017 recipient of the Prix Galien Canada – Research Award.

Linda Snell is this year's winner of the McGill University Lifetime Achievement Award for Leadership in Education.

Jeff Wiseman & the LEADS Partnership were awarded the 2017 Outstanding International Research Collaboration Award sponsored by the American Educational Research Association Technology, Cognition and Learning Special Interest Group.

Hematology

François Mercier was distinguished by the Cole Foundation Transition Award.

Jean-Pierre Routy was elected as the Chair Steering Committee for CTN/CIHR Canadian HIV Trials Network.

Infectious Diseases

Marcel Behr was named Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada.

Charles Frenette and his team were awarded the Prix Hippocrates for their multidisciplinary project in reducing surgical site infections.

Donald Sheppard is leader of the new Faculty of Medicine's McGill Interdisciplinary Initiative in Infection and Immunity (MI4). He has been elected to the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences and to the American Academy of Microbiology. He is also is also the recipient of the Royal College's 2017 Mentor of the Year Award for Region 4.

Nephrology

Ahsan Alam received the MUHC Department of Medicine Douglas G. Kinnear Award for outstanding clinician-teacher at the RVH.

Marcelo Cantarovich was elected President-elect of the Transplantation Society.

Gershon Frisch was presented with the Transition to Clinical Practice (TCP) Award for Excellence in Teaching.

Oncology (Joint appointments)

Morag Park is the recipient of the 2017 Robert L. Noble Prize Award of Excellence from the Canadian Cancer Society. She was also elected to the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences.

Palliative Care

Tom Hutchinson published a new book: Whole Person Care: Transforming Healthcare.

Balfour Mount has been inducted into the Canadian Medical Hall of Fame.

Respiratory

James Gruber received the MUHC Department of Medicine Department of Medicine Physicianship Award.

Elias Matouk received two awards in recognition of his lifetime dedication and excellence of care to cystic fibrosis patients, from the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation and from the City of Montreal (Prix Michel-Paquette).

Rheumatology

Ines Colmegna received the MUHC Department of Medicine Outreach Award.

Marie Hudson was awarded the 2017 « Prix de mérite » from the Association des médecins rhumatologues du Québec.

RESIDENTS

Sapha Barkati received the Dr. Hugo Lumbreras Silver Medal for best overall academic performance in the 2017 Gorgas Diploma course.

Kashayar Esfahani received the MUHC Department of Medicine Award for research by a subspecialty resident.

Julian Huertas Garcia received the Dave Feder Award.

Miriam Harris received the GIM scholarly Enrichment Fund Award to support her Masters in Epidemiology and thesis work on her long-standing interest in population health.

Jean-Frédéric Leblanc received the Lorne E. Cassidy Teaching Award for excellence in teaching by a medical resident at the MGH.

Sam Mamane was awarded the ASMIQ Scholarship 2017 to help fund his upcoming training in Boston.

Corey Miller received the Residency Research Evening Award for research by a rore internal medicine resident. He is also the recipient of the Harold Frank Prize For excellence in a clinical case presentation (Clinical Vignettes).

Louis Antoine Mullie received the Louis G. Johnson Award for excellence in teaching by a medical resident at the RVH.

Romina Pace received the 2017 CSIM Hui Lee Health Promotion Scholarship.

Jill Panceris received the Sheldon Zemelman Memorial Award.

Ramy Saleh received the MUHC Department of Medicine Award for research by a subspecialty resident.

Jessica Thom is the JGH Fellow of the Year.

Nan Zhao is the recipient of the Dr. Allen Spanier Internal Medicine Award.

An electronic Adobe PDF version of this Appendix is available at the following website link: http://www.mcgill.ca/deptmedicine/about-us/annual-reports