Kudos 2016-2017

Please scroll down below to see a listing of PROMOTIONS, HONOURS and DEPARTMENT OF MEDICINE AWARDS.

PROMOTIONS

Associate Professor: Dr. Ines Colmegna Dr. Julian Falutz Dr. Thomas Maniatis Dr. Richard Sheppard

Full Professor: Dr. Sasha Bernatsky Dr. Alain Bitton Dr. Volker Blank Dr. John Kimoff Dr. Chen Liang Dr. Judith Therrien

Emeritus Professor:

AWARDING OF TENURE

Associate Professor (with tenure): Dr. Carolyn Baglole Dr. Nathalie Johnson Dr. Dao Nguyen

Dr. Jesper Sjostrom

HONOURS

Dr. Gerald Batist was named member of the Order of Canada.

Québec Science's Découverte de l'année 2016 goes to Montréal's Nanorobotics Laboratory and the team including **Dr. Gerald Batist, Dr. Nicole Beauchemin** and **Dr. Danuta Radzioch**.

Dr. Marcel Behr has been inducted as Fellow into the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences.

Dr. John Bergeron was presented with the McGill Medal for Exceptional Academic Achievement at the Health Sciences 2016 Convocation.

Dr. Beth-Ann Cummings has been named to the Faculty Honour List for Education Excellence for 2016-2017.

Dr. Samuel David received the 2015 Barbara Turnbull Award for Spinal Cord Research.

Dr. William Foulkes has been inducted as Fellow into the Royal Society of Canada.

Dr. Matthias Friedrich has been elected President of the Society for Cardiovascular Magnetic Resonance.

Dr. Gershon Frisch received the Transition to Clinical Practice (TCP) award for excellence in teaching.

Dr. Emily Gibson McDonald has been selected as the recipient of the 2017 Canadian Society of Internal Medicine New Investigator Award.

Dr. Susan Kahn has been inducted as Fellow into the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences. She was also presented with the Canadian Society of Internal Medicine's 2016 Dr. David Sackett Senior Investigator Award.

Dr. Martin Olivier was awarded the Wardle Medal Canadian Society from the Parasitism, Immunity and Environment Section of the Canadian Society of Zoologists.

Dr. Louise Pilote has been named as one of the Women's Y Foundation's 2016 Women of Distinction in the health category.

Dr. Brent Richards is the recipient of the Prix du Jeune Chercheur André-Dupont 2016 from the Club de Recherches Cliniques du Québec. In addition, he has been elected to the Royal Society of Canada College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists and has been elected as a member of the American Society for Clinical Investigation.

Dr. Lawrence Rudski became President of the Canadian Society of Echocardiography in October 2016.

The Margolese National Heart Disorders Prize is bestowed on **Dr. Ernesto Schiffrin**.

Dr. Mary Stevenson became a fellow of the American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene.

Dr. Patricia Tonin received the Karen Campbell Award for Research Excellence (ovarian cancer).

Dr. Jeffrey Wiseman received the Transition to Clinical Practice (TCP) award for excellence in teaching. He was also presented with the Canadian Society of Internal Medicine's 2016 Osler award.

Dr. Meredith Young has been selected as the 2017 recipient of the Canadian Association for Medical Education's Meridith Marks New Education Award.

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICINE AWARDS

The JGH Department of Medicine Staff and Residents Awards Year-End Party took place on May 16, 2016. Congratulations to the recipients:

Dave Feder Award

Resident who most practices medicine with compassion and sensitivity.

Dr. Arif Awan Dr. Archana Asundi

Sheldon Zemelman Memorial Award

For academic excellence and outstanding contribution to patient care.

Dr. Daniel Blum

<u>Dr. Allen Spanier Internal Medicine Award</u> Resident who exhibits an enduring passion for the practice of medicine. **Dr. Abdullah Esmaiel**

<u>Teachers of the Year voted by the residents</u>

Dr. Blair Schwartz

NEW: Fellow of the Year Award **Dr. Samuel Mamane**

Congratulations to this year's recipients who were recognized at the MUHC Departmental Annual Dinner on June 2, 2016. <u>Photo gallery</u> of this event.

<u>Physician-in-Chief Award</u> For Outstanding Service to the MUHC Department **Ms. Julie Quenneville Mr. Jean-Guy Gourdeau**

<u>Department of Medicine Physicianship Award</u> Exemplary Physician **Dr. Khue Ly**

<u>Outreach Award</u> Attending Staff, Teams or Residents sho enhance links between the MUHC and the community

Dr. Murray Vasilevsky and the Cree Renal Care Program

<u>Department of Medicine Award</u> For Research by a Subspecialty Resident **Dr. Thomas Mavrakanas**

MUHC Department of Medicine Staff Research Award

Dr. Marina Klein

<u>MUHC Department of Medicine Early Career Staff Research Award</u> **Dr. Stella Daskalopoulou**

The Louis G. Johnson Award

For Excellence in Teaching by a Medical Resident – selected by RVH residents **Dr. Alexander Lawandi**

<u>The Lorne E. Cassidy Award</u> For Excellence in Teaching by a Medical Resident – selected by MGH residents **Dr. Amit Raut**

<u>The Douglas G. Kinnear Award</u> Outstanding Clinician-Teacher **Dr. Stéphane Beaudoin**

<u>The W.H. Philip Hill Award</u> Outstanding Clinician-Teacher **Dr. Emil Nashi**

MUHC Department of Medicine Award for Innovation in Clinical Care or Quality

Dr. Stéphane Beaudoin and the Comprehensive Pleural Disease Management Program

McGill Residency Training Program Awards

Residency Research Evening Award For Research by a McGill Core Internal Medicine Resident **Dr. Daniel Blum Dr. Rachel Spevack Dr. Han Yao**

<u>The Harold Frank Prize</u> For excellence in a Clinical Case Presentation Winner of the Clinical Vignettes evening **Dr. Laila Sami**

St. Mary's Awards - The Ceremony took place on June 3, 2016

<u>Physician-in-Chief's Award</u> Dr. Laura Patakfalvi

Mervyn James Robson Memorial Award Dr. Pascale Fugère