Kudos 2012-2013

PROMOTIONS

Associate Professor:

Thierry Alcindor Michelle Elizov Vidal Essebag Nadia Giannetti Sophie Gosselin Anne-Louise Lafontaine Chantal Seguin Kevin Waschke Philip Wong

Full Professor:

Murray Baron Anne Gatignol Ariane Marelli Mark Miller Yong Rao Denis Sasseville

AWARDING OF TENURE

Associate Professor (with tenure):

Stella Daskalopoulou Robert Scott Kiss Monzur Murshed Elena Torban

HONOURS

Jonathan Afilalo is the 2012 winner of the Royal College's Medal Award in Surgery.

Gerald Batist and **Michael Pollak** are the honorees for the 49th André Aisenstadt Memorial Clinic Day at the JGH.

Margaret Becklake has been awarded the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee

Award.

John Bergeron has been awarded the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Award.

Thomas (TMS) Chang has been awarded the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Award.

Ann Clarke is the recipient of the Royal College's 2012 Mentor of the Year Award for the Québec region.

Robert Côté has been awarded the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Award.

Richard L. Cruess received the 2012 Canadian Medical Association's (CMA) Medal of Service. He was also presented with the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal.

Sylvia Cruess was presented with the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal.

Stella Daskalopoulou is the recipient of the Birks Family Foundation Research Award by The Heart and Stroke Foundation.

Joe Dylewski received the Annual Hingston Memorial Award from St. Mary's Hospital Council.

Leon Glass received the 2013 Arthur T. Winfree prize from The Society for Mathematical Biology.

Phil Gold was honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Department of Oncology. He also received the Queen's Diamond Jubilee Medal and was elected as an Honorary Membre of the International Golden Key Society.

Ariane Marelli is the recipient of the Prix d'excellence from the 4th International Conference of Preventive Cardiology by the Heart and Stroke Foundation.

Gaston Ostiguy received the Queen's Diamond Jubilee Medal.

Nitika Pant Pai and **Madhukar Pai** have been awarded the inaugural Chanchlani Global Health Research Award by McMaster University.

Madhukar Pai was presented with the 2013 Faculty of Medicine Honour for Educational Excellence.

Nitika Pant Pai has been selected as the laureate of the 2013 Maude Abbott Prize.

Dick Menzies has been awarded the Union 2012 Prize by the International Union Against Tuberculosis and Lung Disease.

Suzanne Morin and her team including **Nadine Larente**, **Nancy Mayo** and **David Lussier** won the 2012 MUHC Challenge Q+.

Louise Pilote received the 2012 MUHC Director General's Award in the category of Research Institute.

Jean-Pierre Routy has been appointed to the ouis Lowenstein Chair in Hematology and Oncology for a five-year term.

Ernesto Schiffrin took over in as President of the International Society of Hypertension in October 2011. He has been awarded the Queen's Diamond Jubilee Medal and has been named the 2013 ASH Distinguished Scientist and confirmed the Robert Tigerstedt Award.

Makeda Semret is one of two of the inaugural laureates of the Faculty of Medicine's 2012 Haile T. Debas Prize.

Emil Skamene has been awarded the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Award.

Vicky Tagalakis was presented with the 2013 Faculty of Medicine Honour for Educational Excellence.

Christos Tsoukas has been inducted as Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences. He has been awarded the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Award.

Mark Wainberg was presented with the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal. He is a recipient of the CIHR-CMAJ Top Canadian Achievements in Health Rsearch Award.

Brian Ward has been inducted as Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences.

Kevin Waschke has been selected for the 2013 Candaian Association of Medical Education (CAME) Certificate of Merit. He is alto the recipient of the 2012 Royal College Accredited Continuing Professional Development Provider Innovation Award on behalf of the Candian Association of Gastroenterology (CAG). He also received the CAG 2013 Young Educator Award.

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICINE AWARDS

The JGH Department of Medicine Staff and Residents Awards Year-End Party took place on June 7, 2012. Congratulations to the recipients:

<u>Dave Feder Award</u> Resident who most practices medicine with compassion and sensitivity. **Dr. Mathew Hannouche**

Sheldon Zemelman Memorial Award

For academic excellence and outstanding contribution to patient care. **Dr. Daniel Kaud**

<u>Dr. Allen Spanier Internal Medicine Award</u> Resident who exhibits an enduring passion for the practice of medicine. **Dr. John Angelopoulos**

<u>Teacher of the Year</u> voted by the residents **Dr. Gershon Frisch**

Medical Resident Research Award Dr. Michael Goldfarb

Congratulations to this year's recipients who were recognized at the MUHC Departmental Annual Dinner on May 30, 2012.

<u>Physician-in-Chief Award</u> For Outstanding Service to the MUHC Department **Dr. Ewa Sidorowicz**

Department of Medicine Physicianship Award Exemplary Physician **Dr. James Stewart**

<u>Outreach Award</u> Attending Staff, Teams or Residents sho enhance links between the MUHC and the community **Dr. Suzanne Dubé**

Department of Medicine Award For Research by a Subspecialty Resident

Dr. Stéphane Beaudoin

MUHC Department of Medicine Staff Research Award Dr. Andrey Cybulsky

The Louis G. Johnson Award

For Excellence in Teaching by a Medical Resident – selected by RVH residents **Dr. Patrick Lawlor**

The Lorne E. Cassidy Award

For Excellence in Teaching by a Medical Resident – selected by MGH residents **Dr. Maral Koolian**

The Douglas G. Kinnear Award

Outstanding Clinician-Teacher **Dr. Todd Lee**

<u>The W.H. Philip Hill Award</u> Outstanding Clinician-Teacher **Dr. Peter Ghali**

MUHC Department of Medicine Award for Innovation in Clinical Care or Quality Dr. Don Sheppard

McGill Residency Training Program Awards

Department of Medicine For Research by a McGill Core Internal Medicine Resident **Dr. Kristin Popiel**

<u>The Harold Frank Prize</u> For excellence in a Clinical Case Presentation Winner of the Clinical Vignettes evening **Dr. Runye Gan**

<u>The Ezra Lozinsky Prize</u> **Dr. Mathew Hannouche Dr. John Angelopoulos**

St. Mary's Awards

Physician-in-Chief's Award

Dr. Zoe Mamalingas

Mervyn James Robson Memorial Award Dr. Andrea Chabot-Naud