PROMOTIONS

Associate Professor:

Robin Cohen Stéphane Laporte Todd McConnell Kevin Schwartzman

Full Professor:

Ann Clarke Adel Giaid Mark Goldberg Basil Petrof Louise Pilote Stéphane Richard

HONOURS

Ernesto Schiffrin has received the 2007 Irvin Page - Alva Bradely Lifetime Achievement award in recognition of his lifetime outstanding achievement in the field of hypertension. Dr. Schiffrin also received the Pfizer Cardiovascular Research Award in October 2007.

Abraham Fuks is the winner of the McGill Alumni Association award for Excellence in Alumni Education.

Richard Levin received the Heart of New York Mission Achievement Award at the American Heart Association's 15th annual Heart of New York Gala in February 2007.

Madhukar Pai received the 2007 Scientific Prize of the International Union Against Tuberculosis and Lung Disease.

Michael B. Reed has been recognized by the CIHR with the Peter Lougheed/CIHR New Investigator Award - Canada's Premier Young Researcher.

Margaret R. Becklake was awarded the 2007 Prix Chercheur Émérite en santé des populations of the RRSPQ. She has also been appointed Member of the Order of Canada.

Chaim Shustik has been reappointed to the Louis Lowenstein Chair in Hematology and Oncology for a second 5 year-term.

Alan Barkun is this year's recipient of the André-Viallet prize, awarded by the *Association des gastro-entérologues du Québec*.

Marina Klein has been appointed to the CIHR HIV/AIDS Research Advisory Commitee.

Jeffrey Wiseman has been selected for the CAME Certificate of Merit.

Manuel Borod is the recipient of the 2007 MUHC Palliative Care Service Award.

Morag Park has been elected to the Royal Society of Canada.

Howard Bergman has been elected a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences.

Mark J. Eisenberg is the recipient of the Heart and Stroke Foundation of Quebec Pfizer Award and the Heart and Stroke Foundation of Quebec Sharron Axler Feifer Award.

Henri Ménard received the 2007 Distinguished Investigator Award at the Lake Louise mid-winter meeting of the Canadian Rheumatism Association.

Qutayba Hamid was awarded the Burton Zweiman Lectureship Award at the AAAAI annual meeting in San Diego in February 2007.

Nicole Beauchemin and **Donald Boudreau** were each presented with the Faculty Honour for Education Excellence award in June 2007.

Todd McConnell received the Annual Hingston Memorial award presented by the St.Mary's Hospital Council of Physicians, Dentists and Pharmacists.

Michael Rosengarten is the recipient of the 2007 AFMC - John Ruedy award for Innovation in Medical Education.

Suhad Ali is the winner of the 2006 Young Investigator Award from the Canadian Society of Endocrinology and Metabolism.

Yves Bacher was named the new president of the *Association internationale francophone de gériatrie et gérontologie* 2006-2010.

Howard Bergman has been renominated as Chair of the Institute Advisory Board of the CIHR Institute of Aging for another 3-year term.

Allen Huang and Robyn Tamblyn were awarded the prestigious J.-Armand Bombardier award by the *Association francophone pour le savoir*.

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICINE AWARDS

The JGH Department of Medicine Staff and Residents Awards Year-End Party took place on June 7, 2007. Congratulations to this year's recipients!

Dave Feder Award: Presented to the resident who most practices medicine with compassion and sensitivity. Displays kindness, respect and camaraderie towards

colleagues and educators. Carries a positive outlook enabling him/her to enjoy a meaningful balanced life beyond his/her profession. Awarded to: **Dr. Iliana Lega**

Sheldon Zemelman Memorial Award: For academic excellence and outstanding contribution to patient care.

Awarded to: Jonathan How

Dr. Allen Spanier Internal Medicine Award: To the resident who exhibits an enduring passion for the practice of medicine. Through the enjoyment of solving the challenges of patient care and sharing the solutions with others, while maintaining a high level of professionalism, he has been chosen as the individual who best embodies the unique legacy of Dr. Allen Spanier. Awarded to: **Dr. Majid Al-Madi**

Teacher of the Year voted by the residents: Dr. Ruxandra Bunea

Congratulations to this year's recipients who were recognized at the MUHC Departmental Annual Dinner on Thursday, May 17, 2007.

Physician-in-Chief Award For Outstanding Service to the MUHC Department

- Dr. Laurence Green
- Dr. Kenneth Flegel

Department of Medicine & Merck Frosst Award For Research by a McGill Core Internal Medicine Resident

• Dr. Alain Bestawros

Department of Medicine Award

For Research by a Subspecialty Resident

• Dr. Dharmapaul Raju

MUHC Department of Medicine Staff Research Award

- Dr. Simon Wing
- Dr. Samuel David

The Louis G. Johnson Award

For Excellence in Teaching by a Medical Resident – selected by RVH residents

- Dr. Mélanie Mondou
- Dr. Vartan Mardigyan

The Lorne E. Cassidy Award

For Excellence in Teaching by a Medical Resident – selected by MGH residents

• Dr. Leora Birnbaum

The Douglas G. Kinnear Award Outstanding Clinician-Teacher at the MUHC

• Dr. Phil Wong

The W.H. Philip Hill Award Outstanding Clinician-Teacher at the MUHC

• Dr. Peter McLeod

MUHC Department of Medicine Award for Innovation in Clinical Care or Quality

• Dr. Christian Pineau