2015 News

December 2015

The McGill Centre for the Study of Reproduction (CSR) is officially renamed the Centre for Research in Reproduction and Development (CRRD)!

A new logo is launched with the announcement:  along with a new promotional video.

Fall 2015 Trainee Fellowship Winners Announced!

Chirine Toufaily, PDF with D. Bernard
Xueqing Liu, PDF with T. Taketo 
Ngoc Minh Phuong Nguyen, PhD with R. Slim
Fatima Tokhmafshan, MSc with I. Gupta
Deepak Saini, MSc with Y. Yamanaka

Another win for Nazem!

Nazem El Husseini won the Intertek Student Research Award for best PhD poster presentation at the STC 47th Annual Symposium in Ottawa on December 10, 2015.

November 2015

Nazem El Husseini, a PhD student with Dr. Hales, wins third prize for Best Talk Presentation at the 2015 RQR Symposium, Nov 17-18, 2015!


October 2015

Heritable changes in sperm proteins impact health and development of offspring

Exciting findings from the Kimmins lab, published in Science, suggest more attention needs to be paid to fathers' pre-conception health.

September 2015

Head Receives DFO Funding

Our congratulations to Dr. Head who received funding for 2 years under the DFO (Department of Fisheries and Oceans) National Contaminants Advisory Group’s (NCAG) 2015-2016 competition for her proposal entitled "Development of Epigenetic Biomarkers to Evaluate the Effects of Exposure to PAHs in Fish."

Best paper in the Journal of Andrology in 2014 Published by Centre Members!

The American Society of Andrology (ASA) presented the Andrology Award for the best paper published in the Journal of Andrology in 2014 to Bernard Robaire, PhD, Barbara Hales, and Jennifer Maselli. ("Paternal exposure to testis cancer chemotherapeutics alters sperm fertilizing capacity and affects gene expression in the eight-cell stage rat embryo" Andrology 2014 Mar; 2 (2): 259-66)

CSR Trainee wins Ana Steinberger Female Research Excellence Award from ASA

Kudos to Océane Albert, PhD Student with Dr. Bernard Robaire.

August 2015

CSR Member attends FIR

Yining Li, a PhD student in Dr. Bernard’s lab, recently attended the Frontiers in Reproduction (FIR) course in Woods Hole, Massachusetts, with partial funding from CSR. Read about her experiences here.

CSR Trainee wins Gold Medal Award at CSHRF

Congratulations to Christel Dias, PhD student with Dr. Cynthia Goodyer, who won the Gold Medal Award for her poster at the 28th Canadian Student Health Research Forum in Winnipeg, June 2-4, 2015.

CIHR Transitional OOGP competition successful for three CSR members

Congralations Drs. Bernard, Cyr and Kimmins as well as our colleagues Drs. Boerboom, Fitzharris and Tremblay, from the RQR, who were also successful in the recent competition.

June/July 2015

Rima Slim awarded $7,500 CSR Bridge Grant

Congratualations Dr. Slim, sole winner of the Spring 2015 Seed and Bridge Grant Competition!

Kudos to Nazem El Husseini

Nazem, PhD Student with Dr. Barbara Hales, recently won the Teratology Society Wilson Presentation Award for the best doctoral student talk at the 55th Annual Meeting.

May 2015

CSR Research Day 2015 a Success!

Thanks to everyone who participated in and helped make CSR Research Day 2015 a fantastic event!

Congratulations to the poster competition winners:

  • Nancy Li, Undergrad Student with Dr. Vassilios Papadopoulos;
  • Renata Bahous, PhD Student with Dr. Rima Rozen; and
  • Flavia Lorena Carvelli. Postdoctoral Fellow with Carlos Morales.

Congratulations to the oral competition winner:

  • Stephany El-Hayek, PhD Student with Dr. Hugh Clarke.

If you attended CSR Research Day 2015, please complete our short survey [now closed]. 

Spring 2015 Trainee Fellowship Winners Announced!

  • Sunghoon Lee, MSc. Student with Dr. Vassilios Papadopoulos
  • Laleh Abbassi, Ph.D. Student with Dr. Hugh Clarke
  • Ching-Wen Chang, Postdoctoral Fellow with Dr. Makoto Nagano

2015-2016 Travel Stipends are now available here!

Congratulations to our first three winners: Rohini Bose (PhD with Dr. Simon Wing), who attended the ASA Meeting in April, as well as Omar Vieux (PhD Student with Dr. Hugh Clarke) and Laura Whidden (MSc Student with Dr. Jacquetta Trasler), who will attend SSR 2015 in June. 

The final eight 2014-2015 Travel Stipends have been awarded, bringing the total to 20 trainees who have benefited!

Kudos to: Dominic Hou (PhD student with Dr. Loydie Majewska), who attended the Canadian Human Genetics and Statistical Meeting in April, as well as Rodrigo C. Bohrer and Naomi Dicks (PhD stduents with Dr. Vilceu Bordignon), Stephany El-Hayek and Laleh Abbassi (PhD students with Dr. Hugh Clarke), Yining Li and Chirine Toufaily (PhD Student and Postdoc with Dr. Daniel Bernard), and Lorena Carvelli (Postdoc with Dr. Carlos Morales), who will attend SSR2015 in June. 


March 2015

CSR Trainee Yining Li receives $1000 CSR Scholarship to attend Frontiers in Reproduction

at the Marine Biological Laboratory in Woods Hole, Massachusetts, May 3 - June 14, 2015.

Spring 2015 CSR Trainee Fellowship Competition now open.

Deadline: April 2, 2015
For more information

Seven Travel Stipends awarded for the Testis Workshop and ASA Conference in Salt Lake City, UT, April 15-21, 2015!

Congratulations Gurpreet Manku and Steven Jones (PDF and PhD Student with Dr. Martine Culty), Mahmoud Aarabi and Lundi Ly (PDF and PhD Student with Dr. Jacquetta Trasler), Oceane Albert (PDF with Barbara Hales), Gauthier Schang (PhD with Bernard Robaire) and Anne Marie Downey (PhD with Bernard Robaire and Barbara Hales).

February 2015

Employment Opportunity with Dr. Bernard Robaire posted February 2, 2015.

January 2015

Seed & Bridge Grant Winners Announced!

  • Jessica Head (in collaboration with Aimee Ryan) - $10,000 Seed Grant
  • Hugh Clarke (in collaboration with David Dankort) - $5,000 Seed Grant
  • Sarah Kimmins - $10,000 Bridge Grant
  • Anna Naumova - $5,000 Bridge Grant

Three more Travel Stipends awarded!

Kudos to: Amanda Baumholtz (PhD Student with Dr. Aimee Ryan), Enrico Campioli (Postdoctoral Fellow with Dr. Vassilios Papadopoulos) and Yasaman Aghazadeh (PhD Student with Dr. Vassilios Papadopoulos).

CSR Member Teruko Taketo receives funding for five years!

Dr. Taketo has been awarded a CIHR Operating Grant (2014 – 2019) for her project “The cause and mechanism of oocyte elimination during meiotic prophase progression in the mouse.”

I am happy to announce the winners of the CSR Trainee Fellowships Fall 2014 Competition:

  • Luisina Ongaro, Postdoctoral Fellow with Dr. Dan Bernard
  • Anne-Marie Downey, PhD Student with Dr. Bernard Robaire
  • Sathvika Jagannathan, PhD Student with Dr. Vassilios Papadopoulos
  • Yassemine Khawajkie, MSc Student with Dr. Rima Slim
Back to top