Symposium 2016

Program of the16th Annual Quebec Molecular Parasitology Symposium 


The 16th Annual Quebec Molecular Parasitology Symposium of the Center was held at the Macdonald Campus of McGill University on June 6-7, 2016. This year’s meeting has been exclusively organized by trainees from universities across the network. The members of the organizing committee were:

Guillermo Arango Duque, CHPI Student Representative and meeting chair, INRS-Institut Armand-Frappier

Christine Matte, INRS-Institut Armand-Frappier

Alessandra Ricciardi, McGill University

Vaibhav Mehta, McGill University

Rowa Bakadlag, McGill University

Christopher Warburton, Université du Québec à Montréal

Kristen Van Den Ham, McGill University

Patrick Lypaczewski, McGill University


Please click here to download the scientific program: PDF icon chpi2016_program.pdf


We were honoured to welcome the following keynotes speakers:                      

Thomas B. Nutman, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, Bethesda, MD, USA – Immunologic underpinnings of tolerance and pathology in human lymphatic filariasis.

Research in the Nutman laboratory seeks to understand host resistance and immune regulation in parasitic helminth infections of global importance. The ultimate goal of this work is prevention of infection and disease.

Jeroen P. J. Saeij, University of California, Davis, CA, USA – Susceptibility to infection: a complex interplay between host and parasite.

Dr. Saeij’s research focus is primarily in the area of susceptibility to infection by the intracellular parasite Toxoplasma gondii, which is likely caused by a complex interplay between host and parasite.

Nathan C. Peters, University of Calgary, Calgary, AB, Canada – Parasitization of the inflammatory response to infection by Leishmania: implications for vaccination

Dr. Peters is focused on the immuno-biology of chronic infectious diseases, with a special emphasis on vector transmitted and neglected tropical diseases.


Of note, 47 students and staff members presented their research in the form of oral and poster communications.

The organizers are pleased to congratulate the following trainees for their outstanding presentations. Congratulations!

Brian Lukaszewicz, Trent University, Yee & Rafferty laboratories (best oral presentation)

Guillermo Arango Duque, INRS-Institut Armand Frappier, Descoteaux laboratory (second-best oral presentation)

Patrick Lypaczewski, McGill University, Matlashewski laboratory (best poster presentation)

Fadi Baakdah, McGill University, Salavati laboratory (second-best poster presentation)


Once again, this year’s program was broadened to include an Alternative Careers panel in order to expose trainees to professional areas outside of academia. We thank Drs. Jing Liu (IDIGH program manager), Adam Belley (The Medicines Company) and Pierre-Alexandre Rochette (New England Biolabs) for discussing their career paths with the Centre’s trainees!

We thank you for making #CHPI2016 a resounding success and look forward to seeing you all at #CHPI2017 !


Follow us on our Facebook page:



Back to top