Two new units at MUHC aim to ease overcrowding, shorten recovery times

The McGill University Health Centre has announced two new units to ease overcrowding in emergency rooms and improve post-operative care.

Please see CTV News link here for full article.

Published on: 8 Mar 2024

Dear Colleagues,

I am delighted to announce the appointment of Dr Kevin Lachapelle as Director of the Division of Cardiac Surgery at the MUHC and McGill University, effective February 1, 2024. I would like to take this opportunity to thank Dr Renzo Cecere for his dedicated service in this role since 2013.

Published on: 15 Jan 2024

Congratulations to all the winners for the EXSU/IRR Research Day on May 17th 2023! 

ORAL PRESENTERS (200$ prize for each winner):

  • Malcolm Ryan - Basic Sciences
  • Recai Yilmaz - Clinical Sciences
  • Shrieda Jain - Outcomes


Runner ups (2) (100$ prize for each winner):

  • Kai Sheng - Basic Sciences
  • Sarah Ghezelbash - Clinical Sciences


POSTER PRESENTERS (100$ prize for each winner):

Published on: 1 Jun 2023

Dear Colleagues and Trainees,

Last week at the 6th Clinical Innovation Competition, which showcases the top innovations of the entire Faculty of Medicine and Health Science and its nine-affiliated hospitals, the Department of Surgery was outstandingly represented!

Our members won two of the three prejudged prizes for targeted innovation areas. Likewise, of the five finalist companies, three were from our Department and two of these were student-run companies that evolved from our Innovation Masters Program.

Published on: 16 May 2023

The inaugural Fiera Capital Awards recipients are:

Sayed Azher, a PhD student in experimental surgery who is finding ways to integrate technologies like artificial intelligence and virtual reality simulations into medical education.

Misghana Kassa, a MSc student in experimental surgery who is testing the efficacy of antimicrobial coatings that could safeguard replacement joints (i.e., hips, knees) against infection.

Published on: 25 Apr 2023

Congratulations to all the winners this year!



Experimental Surgery



Mohamed Taoubane

Experimental Surgery




Experimental Surgery

Published on: 25 Apr 2023

The department would like to extend our congratulations to Haitham Shoman for being awarded the CIHR - Michael Smith Foreign Study Supplement to travel to Harvard University in Boston as part of his research.

Congratulations Haitham and best wishes for continued success in your PhD program.

Published on: 16 Dec 2022

CONGRATULATIONS to our faculty members for their recent CIHR grants!!!

Willie, Bettina M; Rauch, Frank, Clinical Investigation - B: Arthritis, Bone, Skin and Cartilage, Mechano-adaptation in Osteogenesis Imperfecta - $868,276.00

Loganathan, SAMPATH K, Molecular & Cellular Biology of Cancer, Deciphering the role of metabolic genes in head and neck squamous cell carcinoma - $833,850.00

Published on: 18 Jul 2022




Please join us in extending a warm congratulations to

  • Dr. Shuk On Annie Leung
  • Dr. Sinziana Dumitra
  • Dr. Joshua Vorstenbosch
  • Dr. Marylise Boutros
  • Dr. David P. Labbé

for their recent FRQS awards.


Published on: 9 Jun 2022

Watch Dr. Feldman's talk from the 2022 SAGES Annual Meeting (Vimeo link)

Published on: 18 May 2022

Software designer turned surgeon found a path 'between medicine and engineering'

Published on: 7 Apr 2022
Back to top