Dept. of Psychiatry

A new experiment on the healing power of suggestion and placebo neuroscience by Prof Samuel Veissière, PhD and Jay Olson, MSc (Department of Psychiatry) is featured in Season 2 of the popular science series Mind Field.

To watch the trailer, visit:

The full video can be purchased through the trailer.

Published on: 21 Dec 2017

To watch this year's 2017 Departmental Day on Cannabis in Canada: What do we know? What can we expect? please visit:

Published on: 6 Dec 2017

Congratulations to all the students who received a Graduate Excellence Fellowship in Mental Health Research.

Published on: 1 Dec 2017

Dear Residents and Faculty, 

On behalf of the Postgraduate Residency Training Program and the Department of Psychiatry, we would like to congratulate all the winners of the 2017 Annual Awards Night. 


Dr. Leon Tourian


Psychiatry Residency Program

Awards night 2017


Staff Prizes

Best Role Model

Published on: 1 Dec 2017

Une des plus grandes banques de cerveaux humains au monde se trouve à Montréal. Des chercheurs des quatre coins de la planète ont recourt à ses services pour analyser des échantillons prélevés sur plus de 3000 spécimens. On est allés rencontrer le psychiatre Gustavo Turecki de la Banque Douglas-Bell Canada pour visiter les laboratoires et en apprendre plus sur ses études sur le suicide et la dépression.

Published on: 4 Oct 2017

Congratulations to Dr. Eric Latimer who was awarded the 2017 Royal College McLaughlin Gallie Visiting Professorship.

To read more, please visit (Profs from the UK & Montreal net 2017 visiting professorships) or (Des enseignants du R.-U. et de Montréal parmi les professeurs invités de 2017).

Published on: 13 Jun 2017

Douglas Institute Students

Oral Presentations:

1st (Prix d'excellence du FRQ-S): Scott Bell (Dr. Carl Ernst's lab)

2nd: Chloé Nobis (Dr. Nicolas Cermakian's lab)

3rd: Santiago Cuesta (Cecilia Flores' lab)


Poster Presentations:

1st: Abdelhalim Elsiekh (Dr. Natasha Rajah's lab)

2nd: Lauren Reynolds (Dr. Cecilia Flores' lab)


McGill Graduate Psychiatry Students:

Oral Presentations:

Published on: 7 Jun 2017


Sarah McIlwaine

Tatiana Sanchez

Johnson ying

Jishian Ravinthiran



Nevicia Case

Manal El Deb

Kathleen MacDonald


Resident - research

Dr. Anthony Gifuni (Phase I)



Published on: 23 May 2017

Dr. Srividya Iyer has been selected as the laureate of the 2017 Maude Abbott Prize!

This award was established in 2010 by the Faculty of Medicine in order to recognize outstanding female faculty members at an early career stage who have excelled in education, research or administration.



Published on: 19 May 2017

Congratulations to the FRSQ Competition 2017-2018 winners!

Dr. Xiangfei Meng
Dr. Jamie Near
Dr. Brett Thombs

Chercheurs-bousiers cliniciens
Dr. Michael Bodnar
Dr. Eduardo Chachamovich
Dr. Tuong-Vi Nguyen
Dr. Soham Rej
Dr. Pedro Rosa-Neto

Published on: 17 May 2017

Congratulations to the CIHR 2016 Project Grant and Bridge Grant winners!

Published on: 17 May 2017

Dear colleagues,

Published on: 20 Feb 2017

Congratulations to Dr. Gustavo Turecki on being granted Tier 1-Canada Research Chair in Major Depressive Disorder and Suicide.  

To read more, please visit:



Published on: 13 Dec 2016

Dr. Gustavo Turecki was awarded Brain & Behavior Research Foundation Awards NARSAD Distinguished investigator Grant.

For more details, please see attachment.

Published on: 9 Dec 2016