School of Architecture

Paul Laurendeau (BSc[Arch] ’89, BArch ’91) is a 2016 recipient of the Governor’s General Award in Architecture, presented on 20 September 2016 in a ceremony at Rideau Hall.  Laurendeau was the lead design architect on the Amphithéâtre Cogeco in Trois-Rivières, in consortium with François R. Beauchesne.

Published on: 21 Sep 2016

Announced 7 July 2016 by Dr. David Eidelman, Vice-Principal (Health Affairs) and Dean, and Dr. Mara Ludwig, Vice-Dean (Academic Affairs), of the Faculty of Medicine

Published on: 7 Jul 2016

The School of Architecture team took second prize at the recently completed 2016 Tongji International Construction Festival in Shanghai. The students' project - "Sphere - Wave" - was based on the use of a single, repeated module and required no additional fasteners beyond a simple friction connection. This allowed for rapid assembly without additional tools in a variety of situations. The modular concept also permitted a variety of shapes for the final project.

Published on: 14 Jun 2016

Prof. Robert Mellin has won the Atlantic Publishers Marketing Association’s Best Atlantic-Published Book Award (sponsored by Friesens Corporation) at this year’s Atlantic Book Awards and Festival.  The award was announced at the festival gala in Moncton, NB, on April 27, 2016, and was presented for a printed book which best exemplifies publishing activity in Atlantic Canada.  Prof.

Published on: 29 Apr 2016

To honour the teaching career of Emeritus Professor Radoslav Zuk (BArch 1956), Michel Broz (BArch 1987) and Isabelle Jodoin (BEng 1986) have created an endowment to fund a travel award to be offered to one or more undergraduate students in the School of Architecture undertaking an exchange semester at a university outside of Canada recognized by the Student Exchange & Study Abroad Office.  It is expected that the first recipient will be awarded in the 2020-2021 academic year.

Published on: 12 Apr 2016

At the awards ceremony of the Grands Prix du Design on February 15, 2016, at the Casino de Montréal, Atelier Big City (Adjunct Professor Howard Davies, Randy Cohen and Anne Cormier, all BArch 1982) won an award for their project “7-Plex” in the category Residential Space, 1,600 sq. ft.

Published on: 18 Feb 2016

Gonzalo Lizarralde (MArch 2001) has won an Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA) / American Institute of Architects (AIA) 2015-2016 Architectural Education Award: a Housing Design Education Award (Excellence in Housing Education Course or Activity) for The Invisible Houses.  Lizarralde is an

Published on: 25 Jan 2016

The McGill team of Maha Benhachmi (U2), Muye Ma (U2) and Mahya Sabour (U3), with the assistance of Luis Alvarez (BSc[Arch] 2015), won first prize in the Architecture Éphémère competition at the Ice Hotel outside Quebec City at the opening celebration on Friday, January 15.  A total of 32 teams from the universities of Laval, McGill, Montréal and UQAM submitted design panels to the competition, of which three were chosen to be built as theme rooms.  First prize was awarded to

Published on: 18 Jan 2016

A team of undergraduate students from the School is one of three finalist teams in the Architecture Éphémère competition at the Ice Hotel outside Quebec City: Maha Benhachmi (U2), Muye Ma (U2), and Mahya Sabour (U3).  For the 11th consecutive year, the competition was open to students from the universities of Laval, McGill, Montréal, and UQAM.  The three winning schemes were chosen from over 30 submitted projects, and they will be built as actual rooms in the Ice Hotel this winter.  They wer

Published on: 9 Dec 2015

Clothilde Caillé-Lévesque (MArch 2015 and a course lecturer in the School) is one of five winners of the Canadian Architect 2015 Awards of Excellence.  She was the sole student selected as an award winner, for her graduating thesis project, Close Encounters: A New Post-Industrial La

Published on: 9 Dec 2015

Many graduates of the School are represented amongst the 2015 winners of the OAQ (Ordre des architectes du Québec) Prix d'excellence en architecture.  A total of 13 awards and two mentions were announced on November 21, 2015, in the 28th year of the prizes.

Published on: 3 Dec 2015

The Quartier des Spectacles Partnership has announced the installation that will take over the Place des Festivals this coming winter for the sixth annual edition of Luminothérapie, from 10 December 2015 to 31 January 2016: Impulse, a participatory creation by the Toronto-based firm Lateral Office, and CS Design, in collaboration with EGP Group, both from Montreal.

Published on: 16 Oct 2015

Adjunct Professor Julia Gersovitz is to receive the Gabrielle Léger Medal for Lifetime Achievement in recognition of her 40-year contribution to heritage conservation in Canada.  The medal is one of the National Trust Leadership Awards for 2015.  The recipients’ accomplishments will be fêted at the National Trust’s National Awards Ceremony and Reception taking place in Calgary, Alberta, on October 23, 2015 at the Petroleum Club with Her Honour, the Hon. Lois Mitchell, Lieutenant Governor of Alberta, presenting.

Published on: 9 Oct 2015