Schulich School of Music Composition Students Triumph in SOCAN Foundation Awards


The SOCAN Foundation (the Foundation) announced today the recipients of the 19th Annual SOCAN Foundation Awards for Young Composers. This year's competition attracted a record 232 entries, with 13 award recipients and two multiple prize winners, receiving a total $26,250 in prizes. Seven of the 13 prize winners hold degrees from or are currently studying at McGill University's Schulich School of Music. The annual SOCAN Foundation Awards for Young Composers recognize Canadian composers under 30 years of age for specific musical works in five categories of concert music.

First prizes in the five categories were awarded to Matthew Ricketts (Sir Ernest MacMillan Awards), Alec Hall (Serge Garant Awards), Taylor Brook and Trevor Grahl (shared, Pierre Mercure Awards), Nicholas Piper (Godfrey Ridout Awards) and Guillaume Barrette (Hugh Le Caine Awards).

Additional Award recipients include: Marielle Groven (second prize) and Alec Hall (third prize) in the Sir Ernest MacMillan Awards; Taylor Brook (second prize) and Roger Feria Jr. (third prize) in the Serge Garant Awards; Alexandra Fol (third prize) in the Pierre Mercure Awards; Gabriel Dharmoo (second prize) and Aaron Gervais (third prize) in the Godfrey Ridout Awards; and Adam Basanta (second prize) and Charles Quevillon (third prize) in the Hugh Le Caine Awards.