Robert Leckey Appointed William Dawson Scholar


Published: 17Aug2011

The Faculty of Law is pleased to announce that our colleague Robert Leckey has been appointed William Dawson Scholar by the University. William Dawson Chairs are intended to recognize the outstanding work of younger scholars at McGill.

Professor Robert Leckey is a renowned scholar of comparative law who teaches and researches in the fields of family law, contract law and constitutional law. The appointment as a William Dawson Scholar underscores his important contributions to faculty life and legal research.

Professor Leckey has received numerous awards for his teaching and scholarship, including the Alan Marks Medal (2006), the Prix de la Fondation du Barreau du Québec (2007), the Canadian Association of Law Teachers' Scholarly Paper Prize (2009), the McGill Law Students' Association's John W. Durnford Teaching Excellence Award (2009), the Canada Prize of the International Academy of Comparative Law (2010), and the Principal's Prize for Excellence in Teaching (2010).

He has recently been named by the Provost of McGill University as Acting Director of the Quebec Research Centre of Private and Comparative Law, during the period 1 July-31 December 2011.

About James McGill Professorships and William Dawson Scholarships

In 2000, institutional recognition awards, namely the James McGill Professors and William Dawson Scholars, were created in parallel with the Canada Research Chair program to recognize the outstanding research contributions of academic staff members currently in place at McGill University.

The Faculty of Law now boasts five such award recipients: Professors Lionel Smith, Stephen Smith & Richard Gold have each received James McGill Professorships, and Professor Adelle Blackett holds a William Dawson Chair.

Back to top