National announcement of Canada Research Chairs Program


The Honourable GaryGoodyear, Minister of State (Science and Technology), and the Honourable Jean-Pierre Blackburn, Minister of National Revenue and Minister of State (Agriculture), will announce funding for 134 Canada Research Chairs at an event that will be held on Monday, February 23, 11a.m., at McGill University. This national announcement includes new and renewed chairs at 37 Canadian universities.


Monday, February 23, 2009 – 11:00 a.m.


McGill University
Atrium of the Francesco Bellini Life Sciences Building
3649 Promenade Sir William Osler, Montreal


The Honourable Gary Goodyear
Minister of State (Science and Technology)

The Honourable Jean-Pierre Blackburn
Minister of National Revenue and Minister of State (Agriculture)

Dr. Anthony C. Masi
Provost, McGill University

Manon Harvey
Vice-President, Finance and Corporate Services
Canada Foundation for Innovation

Dr. Richard I. Levin
Vice-Principal (Health Affairs) and Dean, Faculty of Medicine
McGill University

Dr. Andrew Reader
Canada Research Chair in Positron Emission Tomography
McGill University

The researchers named to hold Canada Research Chairs are world leaders in many vital research fields, including health, the environment and nanotechnology.

Contact Information

Julie Fortier
Media Relations Office
julie.c.fortier [at]
Office Phone: