McGill's Canadian Academy of Health Sciences Fellows

The Canadian Academy of Health Sciences (CAHS) recently recognized six leaders in the health sciences from McGill as elected CAHS Fellows, one of the highest honours for individuals in the Canadian health sciences community. Elections are based on a nominating and peer review process that seeks to recognize those who are marked by a record of substantial accomplishment. 

Published: 26 September 2012
The newly elected Fellows from McGill are:

Dr. Eduardo Franco, James McGill Professor, Interim Chair, Department of Oncology, and Director, Division of Cancer Epidemiology, Faculty of Medicine

Dr. Rebecca Fuhrer, Professor and former Chair, Department of Epidemiology, Biostatistics and Occupational Health, Faculty of Medicine

Dr. Jody Heymann, Founding Director, McGill Institute for Health and Social Policy, Professor and Canada Research Chair in Global Health and Social Policy

Dr. Constantin Polychronakos, Professor, Departments of Pediatrics and Human Genetics, and Director, Division of Endocrinology, McGill University Health Centre

Dr. Christos Tsoukas, Associate Director, McGill AIDS Centre, Professor, Department of Medicine, and Director, Division of Allergy and Clinical Immunology, McGill University Health Centre

Dr. Brian J. Ward, Associate Professor, McGill Centre for the Study of Host Resistance, McGill University Health Centre

Fellows are elected to the Academy based on their contributions to the promotion of health science while demonstrating leadership, creativity, distinctive competencies and a commitment to advance academic health science. Election to Fellowship carries with it a covenant to serve the Academy and the future well-being of the health sciences irrespective of the Fellow’s specific discipline.

CAHS is Canada’s first national advisory body of healthcare leaders and researchers from across the country. For more information, including a complete list of Fellows, please visit:

Back to top