McGill golf teams finish out of the picture at Quebec championships


Published: 6Oct2010


LAVAL, Que. -- The McGill Golf Teams closed out their 2010 fall schedule at the QSSF Championships, Oct. 4-6. The event, hosted by Universite de Montreal, was held at the prestigious Laval sur le Lac Golf Club in Laval.


The event was a multiphase competitition with the 2010 QSSF team and individual champions being crowned as well as team and individual medals awarded for the 3-day event at Laval.


The QSSF Team Championships for men and women are determined by team scores over 7 rounds played in the 3 QSSF tournaments in the fall season. The Individual Championships are determined by adding the 3 round scores of the Laval Tournament to the best 2 rounds of the 4 played in the first 2 QSSF events.


To be eligible for the team championships, men's teams must have placed in the top 6 in the first 6 rounds of the fall circuit and women in the top 4. The McGill men's team placed 8th after 6 rounds and failed to qualify for the final round. The women played insufficient rounds to qualify. The Men's team championship was won by Laval and the Women's championship by Montreal


The Martlets' play on the first day of the Laval event was their best of the season. First year players Frederique Bovet and Dayvi Khanna shot rounds of 84 and 86   respectively, while 2nd year player Jennifer Newton shot an 88 for a team total of 258, good for 3rd position after the first day. Their scores were higher on day 2 with Khanna 87, Bovet 92, and Newton 98 for a total of 277, tied with Sherbrooke for 5th place on the day and 4th place over 2 days.


The Redmen did not play well on day 1. Mark Heenan had an 80, Ryan Boyd 81, Brian Neill 87, and Andrew Lake 90, for a team total of 338, good for 7th place in the 12-team field. Day 2 saw some significant improvement with Heenan and Boyd shooting excellent 75, and 76's, (3rd and 5th best scores of the day) and Neill and Tom Calvet scoring 84's, for a team total of 319, a 4th place showing, one shot behind 3rd. The team completed the 6 rounds in 8th place but not high enough to qualify for the 6 team final day round. Boyd, Heenan and Neill competed in the Individual event on day 3 and posted scores of 82, 87,and 85 respectively placing them 23rd, 24th, and 44th in the 58 man championship field.


With the fall competitive season now complete, the players will continue to play and practice at Kanawaki as long as the weather permits. A spring tournament is planned.


Although not pleased with the overall results of the season, Coach Bob Dubeau sees some positives for the future. With 12 first year players, 9 being true freshmen, the experience gained this year should bring better results and a jump in next years team standings. The search has begun for two low handicap women players and a couple of additional scratch players for the men's team.



Final Results


Men's Team Results   7 rounds                                   Men's Individual Results


1 Universite- Laval                                                           1 Mathieu Gingras-Laval                                                                                                                            2 Charles Cote-Laval

2 Universite de Montreal                                                 3 Mathieu Perron- UdeM

3 Universite de Sherbrooke                                             4 JP Cornellier- UdeM

4 UQTR                                                                           5 Jeff Barkum-Concordia

5 Concordia                                                                     23 Mark Heenan-McGill

6 Bishops                                                                         23 Ryan Boyd-McGill (tie)

44 Brian Neill-McGill

After 6 rounds (did not qualify for Finals)


8 McGill


10 UQO




Women's Team Results                                                    Women's Individual Results


1 Universite de Montreal                                                   1 Mylene Chalifoux-ETS

2 Universite Laval                                                             2 Laurence Migneault-UdeM

3 UQTR                                                                             3 Alexandra Levy-UdeM

4 UQAC                                                                            4 Frederique Gauthier-UQAC

5 Sherbrooke                                                                     5 Kate Ross Bell- Laval

(McGill had insufficient rounds )                                     (McGill had insufficient rounds)



Back to top