McGill golf teams finish fifth at Quebec conference championship

Published: 4 October 2011

The McGill golf team participated in the closing tournament of the 2011 schedule hosted by Laval University, Oct 3-4, at the prestigious Royal Quebec Golf Club in Quebec City. The Laval event was the last two rounds of the eight round Team Championships and also the final two rounds of the six round Individual Championships.

The 36 hole Laval tournament once again saw Laval sweep both the Men's and Women's Team honours. On the Men's side, Laval led Montreal by 34 strokes with Sherbrooke placing third. McGill was in fifth position in the 12 school event only 5 strokes behind Trois Rivieres and 9 short of third place. The Women's event had Laval edging Montreal by 5 strokes.

The Individual honours for men went to Laval's Ugo Coussaud who won his second tournament in the four event circuit. His 5 under par total of 139 (68-71) was two better than teammate Max Guilbert and three ahead of another Laval player, Charles Cote. McGill's Brian Neill was an impressive 6th with rounds of 75-72 on a cold windswept Royal Quebec course. Laurence Mignault of Montreal also won her second event with a 149 total (75-74) three stokes better than Laval's Sabrina Sapone. McGill's Dayvi Khanna placed 8th with rounds of 84-86.


Final Championship Standings


Laval continued their domination of Quebec university golf by capturing their 6th straight Men's and Women's team titles. Montreal was again in second position trailing Laval by 73 stokes on the Men's side and 59 in the Women's championship. Trois Rivieres was third in the Men's team event followed by Sherbrooke. These four Men's teams and two Women's teams, earned automatic berths in the 2012 Golf Canada Canadian University Championships to be held in Victoria BC next May. McGill's Men's team placed 5th and holds the first alternate position for the Canadian Championships.

The 2011 RSEQ Individual Men's Championship was captured by Laval's Ugu Coussaud with an 8 stroke advantage over his teammate Charles Cote. Montreal's Iannick Lamarre won the bronze medal. McGill's top player was Brian Neill who placed 16th overall. Yannick Schewey was in 18th position.

Laurence Mignault of Montreal captured her second straight overall Women's Championship with an 8 stroke lead over Sabrina Sapone of Laval. Virginie Boulianne, also of Laval, was 3rd. McGill's Dayvi Khanna completed the season in 6th position, an excellent result for the 2nd year player.

The 2011 McGill Golf season is now complete and the waiting game begins for the Men's team to hear if a berth in the 2012 Canadian University Championships will occur. Qualified teams have until mid December to confirm their participation. McGill is the first alternate from the Quebec Conference.

Complete results of the 2011 RSEQ Golf Circuit can be viewed at



Back to top