McGill BCom students place first at the 2005 Jeux du Commerce


McGill Bachelor of Commerce students won first honours at the 17th edition of the Jeux du Commerce, held at the Université du Québec à Rimouski, January 7-10.

Over 1,000 students from 13 Eastern Canadian universities attended this inter-university competition. The event included academic competitions (cases, a debate and a stock market simulation) where teams had to present in front of a jury made up of members of the business community and professors. Sports and social competitions were also part of the event.

The Jeux du Commerce allow students to apply academic knowledge to real-life situations, network with students from different universities, and connect with the business world.

In addition to gaining first place overall, McGill students' outstanding performance was rewarded by 11 podium positions.

First place

Managing Human Resources: Andrew Rose, Joseph Boayes, Nomi Shandler

International Business: Louis-Paul Hetu, Caroline Morrisette, Panthea Lee

Second place

Marketing: David Legendre, Phuong Tran, Jenny Worden

Debate: Debbie Asirvatham, Jesse McWaters, Gaurav Toshniwal, Kalanga Joffres

Finance: Felix Etienne-Lebel, Philippe Cantin, Sebastien Gagnon

Strategy: Taryn Barker, Philippe Charette, Monika Dygut

Stock Market Simulation: Debra Tran, Michael Hudgin, Harsha Rajamani, David Barry

Third place

Information Systems Management: Nurdin Ismail, Imran Siddiqui, Maheen Deen

Entrepreneurship: Pierre-Olivier Descoteaux, Allan Eisen, Elizabeth Rancourt

Ball Hockey: Emilie Laville, Francis Robillard, François Fillion, Jacynthe Simard, Jean-François Dufort, Lawrence Brossard, Lisanne Auger-Bellmare, Nicolas Letendre, Samuel Letendre

Social: Sarah Gosselin, Francis Wielgosz, Alexandre Frechette, Catherine Bertheau

A special thanks to Richard Donovan, who was instrumental in preparing McGill for the games, along with Steve Fortin, Demetrios Vakratsas and Omar Toulan. All four traveled with the students to Rimouski. Professors Francesca Carrieri, Mo Chaudhury, Peter Johnson, Larry Goldsman, Karl Moore and Saibal Ray also coached students.

Contact Information

Annie Julien
Faculty of Managment
annie.julien [at]
Office Phone: