McGill announces 2017 honorary doctorate recipients


Published: 16May2017

McGill University has released the names of the inspirational leaders who will be receiving honorary doctorates this year. The slate includes luminaries in fields ranging from music to sustainability. Nobel Prize winners Arthur McDonald and Paul Nurse will be honoured, as will former prime ministers Paul Martin and Brian Mulroney.

Kathleen Taylor will be recipient of the Doctor of Laws for Management. She has blazed a trail for women in the hospitality business, both as CEO of Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts, and as a main driver behind legislation to promote women in leadership roles in Ontario.

McGill Principal and Vice-Chancellor Suzanne Fortier calls this year’s honourees’ work “transformative,” then goes on to add that “Their leadership serves as a wonderful role model for us all.”

Read more in The Suburban