IASL student Rachel Pachoud receives two major scholarships


Published: 13Nov2009

Rachel Pachoud, an LL.M. candidate attached to the Institute of Air and Space Law, has been awarded two prestigious scholarships.

On October 23, 2009, she was invited to attend the Wings Club dinner-dance in New York, where she was awarded a Wings Club Scholarship for outstanding academic achievement in the field of aviation.

Following that, on October 30, 2009, Rachel Pachoud (left on photo) received the 2009 International Aviation Women's Association (IAWA) scholarship, formally conferred by Mia Wouters, LL.M. '85, of Brussels (right on photo).

This is the first time that a McGill Student has been awarded a scholarship from The Wings Club, one of the most prestigious aviation clubs in the world.

Ms. Pachoud previously worked in the aviation field in Latin America. She is particularly interested in safety and security matters as well as accident investigations. Her research focus is on flight safety, how to learn from past accidents from independent and reliable investigations, and how improve security without jeopardizing passengers' privacy, civil and other human rights.

The Faculty of Law and the Institute of Air and Space Law offer Rachel Pachoud their warmest congratulations.

About The Wings Club

Established in New York City in 1942, The Wings Club was a gathering place for aviation leaders to help chart the future course of aeronautics. Most aviation and aerospace leaders have been members or participated in programs at The Wings Club. The Wings Club Scholarship Fund was established to encourage education in aviation and aerospace. Scholarships are awarded yearly to deserving students studying in colleges and universities participating in the program.

About the IAWA annual scholarship

The International Aviation Women's Association supports the professional development of women is through its IAWA Scholarship Program, which provides scholarships to women students majoring in Aviation Law, Management, Business or Finance.  Since the inception of the program in 2004, IAWA has awarded ten scholarships in four universities.


Back to top