

Yuman Fong, MD The Sangiacomo Family Chair in Surgical Oncology

20th Annual L.D. MacLean General Surgery Visiting Professor

May 11th-12th, 2022 Fairmount Queen Elizabeth Hotel



YUMAN FONG, MD

The Sangiacomo Family Chair in Surgical Oncology

Dr. Yuman Fong is the Sangiacomo Chair and Chairman of the Department of Surgery at the City of Hope Medical Center.

Dr. Fong is best known for his extensive work in the field of liver and pancreatic surgery. He helped usher in robotic techniques for HPB surgery. He is editor of the SAGES Atlas of Robotic Surgery. For his clinical work, he was awarded the Layton F. Rikkers Master Clinician Award from the SSAT. He has assisted in the design and deployment of many novel surgical tools. For his contributions to surgical research, he has been awarded the Flance-Karl Award from American Surgical Association. His work in medical engineering has led to his election to the American Institute of Medical and Biologic Engineering.

His laboratory focus is in design of gene and immune cell therapies for cancer. His leadership on the national level has included serving as the Chair of the Recombinant DNA Advisory Committee (RAC) of the National Institutes of Health. He is Founding Editor-in-Chief of Molecular Therapy Oncolytics (Cell Press, official journal of the ASGCT). He has co-authored over 1000 papers (h-index=141) and 22 textbooks. He has also been elected to the American Society of Clinical Investigation and to the National Academy of Medicine.

The McGill Division of General Surgery is very proud to welcome Dr. Fong



PROGRAM

Fairmount Queen Elizabeth Hotel | Laurier Room 900 Rene-Levesque blvd West Montreal OC H3B 4A5

WEDNESDAY MAY 11th, 2022

- 11h00 CASE PRESENTATIONS
- 12h00 LUNCH
- 13h00 INTRODUCTION AND WELCOMING REMARKS Dr. P. Fata, Director – Division of General Surgery
- **CONFERENCE BY VISITING PROFESSOR** 13h05 *"Gene Surgery and Cell Therapies: Now that we have"* reached clinics, how can we make it affordable?" — Dr. Yuman Fong
- 14h00 14h10 BREAK
- 14h10 15h30 **RESEARCH PRESENTATIONS**
- 15h30 15h45 BREAK
- 15h45 16h00 **DIVISION DEBATE**
- 16h00 16h30



McGILL ALUMNUS TALK Introducing Dr. Caroline Rochon "Surgical Leadership, How to Learn What No One Teaches"

THURSDAY MAY 12th, 2022

- 7h15 RESEARCH AWARDS PRESENTATION
- 7h30 **GRAND ROUNDS** "The Surgeon in the 21st Century: Are We Obsolete?" — Dr. Yuman Fong

DR. LLOYD D. MACLEAN (1924-2015) was Chairman of the McGill Department of Surgery from 1968 to 1973, 1977 to 1982 and from 1987 to 1988. He was the Edward W. Archibald Professor, Department of Surgery, McGill University from 1987 – 1993. He was also Surgeon–in-Chief at the Royal Victoria Hospital from 1962 to 1988.

Dr. L.D. MacLean was a Professor of Surgery at McGill for more than a quarter of a century. During this time, he made significant contributions in the study of shock, peritonitis, host resistance, transplantation and extended our understanding of the effectiveness of surgery for obesity.

Some of the many honours Dr. MacLean received are:

- The Gairdner Wightman Award in 1989 for Outstanding Leadership, Teaching and Administration in Medicine
- Arthur Sims Commonwealth Traveling Professorship 1988-1989
- Appointed as the First Edward Archibald Professor of Surgery 1987
- Appointed Officer of the Order of Canada 1985
- In 1993 he was elected President of the American Surgical Association
 - prestigious post once occupied by Edward Archibald, McGill Professor of Surgery in 1923-35, who Dr. MacLean greatly admired.
- President of the American College of Surgeons, 1993-1994

Dr. L.D. MacLean is author, from 1952 – 2006, of 350 papers in peer reviewed journals. McGill surgeons are justifiably proud of Dr. L.D. MacLean's achievements and honours. This Visiting Professor Program is designed to acknowledge Dr. L.D. MacLean's leadership role in the promotion of excellence in academic surgery.

L.D. MACLEAN GENERAL SURGERY VISITING PROFESSOR

2010 – Dr. David Flum 2011 – Dr. Guy Maddern 2012 – Dr. Quan-Yang Duh 2013 – Dr. Philip R. Schauer 2014 – Dr. Conor P. Delaney 2015 – Dr. David R. Urbach 2016 – Dr. Rebecca M. Minter 2017 – Dr. Caprice C. Greenberg 2018 – Dr. L.D. Britt 2019 – John R.T. Monson 2020 – No meeting 2021 – Dr. Teodor Grantcharov

OUR SPONSORS

