Nobel Prize in Physics goes to gravitational wave scientists


Published: 3Oct2017

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2017 was divided, one half awarded to Rainer Weiss, the other half jointly to Barry C. Barish and Kip S. Thorne "for decisive contributions to the LIGO detector and the observation of gravitational waves". (Nobel Prize)

Daryl Haggard  -- Prof. Haggard and her group search for X-ray flashes emitted from neutron stars and black holes when they collide. These collisions send ripples through space-time, gravitational waves, now being detected by LIGO and Virgo.
daryl.haggard [at] (English)

Matt Caplan -- Postdoctoral fellow at McGill, works on the physics of the interiors of Neutron stars, very familiar with the LIGO project. Not in Montreal, but available via email a phone. 
mecaplan [at] (English)

Robert Brandenberger -- Professor of Physics and Canada Research Chair, FRSC, theoretical cosmologist.
rhb [at] (English, French)

Oscar Hernández -- Adjunct member of the Department of Physics at McGill University,  theoretical physicist, works on cosmic strings and the early Universe.
oscarh [at] (English, French)

Back to top