New and Renewed Canada Research Chairs for the Faculty


Published: 18Jun2019

On June 14 in Victoria, British Columbia, the Honourable Kirsty Duncan, Minister of Science and Sport, announced an investment of over $275 million for 346 new and renewed Canada Research Chairs at 52 institutions across Canada. The Canada Foundation for Innovation also made an important investment towards these Chairs in providing more than $5.2 million in new funding for research infrastructure, supporting 30 Chairs at 18 institutions.

McGill celebrates the appointment of 19 new and seven renewed Canada Research Chairs (CRCs), valued at $25.6 million.

Congratulations to new CRC Chair recipients Melissa McKinney and Lyle Whyte, and to Nil Basu on his renewal:

  • Melissa McKinney, CRC in Ecological Change and Environmental Stressors, Tier 2 (New)
  • Lyle Whyte, CRC in Polar Microbiology, Tier 1 (New)
  • Nil Basu, CRC in Environmental Health Sciences, Tier 2 (Renewed)