Lara Khoury appointed as McGill’s new Associate Vice-President, Research

Published: 16 January 2024

The Faculty of Law is pleased to share that Professor Lara Khoury, Ad E, has been appointed Associate Vice-President, Research. Her three-year term began on 1 January. She will share her time between this office and the Faculty of Law.

A full professor, Lara Khoury is a leading expert in the fields of comparative medical, public health and environmental law, with a focus on liability. She is an associate member of McGill's Institute for Health & Social Policy and Biomedical Ethics Unit. In 2023, she received the prestigious Ramon John Hnatyshyn Award for Law of the Canadian Bar Association. A prolific writer, Professor Khoury’s scholarship has been cited nearly 60 times by Canadian judges – including twice by the Supreme Court. She served as associate dean (research) at the Faculty of Law from 2015 to 2017.

“As Associate Vice-Principal, Research, I hope that my long experience in undertaking research at the juncture of the social sciences and humanities and the health/science disciplines will benefit McGill as it continues to push the limits of its excellence in interdisciplinary global research,” said Professor Khoury. “I also look forward to working with McGill’s amazing researchers, of all disciplines, and helping them achieve their aspirations.”

Professor Khoury will help to develop proposals and projects that advance McGill’s research enterprise in social sciences and humanities. She will also work with the Research + Innovation teams that develop grants across a range of disciplines. She will collaborate with the Office of the Provost and Vice-President (Academic) on Canada Research Chair nominations and advancing equity, diversity and inclusion in research proposals.

“Having had the chance to collaborate with her during her associate deanship, I have witnessed firsthand Professor Khoury’s vast experience in research, and the strengths she will contribute to her new role,” said Dean Robert Leckey, Ad E. “I’m very proud to see yet another member of our Faculty contribute to the University’s governance and leadership.”



Back to top