Karine Auclair receives 2023 Clara Benson Award

Published: 20 January 2023

Karine Auclair, professor in the Department of Chemistry, is the 2023 recipient for the Clara Benson Award from the Chemical Institute of Canada (CIC). 

Sponsored by the Canadian Council of University Chemistry Chairs (CCUCC), the Clara Benson Award is presented to recognize a woman who has made a distinguished contribution to chemistry while working in Canada.

Here is what the CIC had to say about Auclair's work:

Among several awards, Auclair holds the Canada Research Chair in Antimicrobials and Green Enzymes, and is recipient of two McGill Professorships (Fessenden and Tomlinson) and of the Leo Yaffe teaching award. Her success is further reflected in several patents, >100 invited seminars around the world, and close to 100 peer-reviewed publications in high profile journals, many of which have been highlighted extensively. Auclair has served on international grant selection panels, scientific committees, and research networks. She is a bioorganic chemist recognized internationally for her contributions to the field of antibiotic resistance and for the innovative concept of mechano-enzymology in moist-solid reaction mixtures.

Read the full announcement on the CIC website. 

Back to top