DISE's Natalie Pepiot and Andrea Varghese receive ATEQ's Marjorie Gawley Award

Published: 28 April 2017

 textNatalie Pepiot and Andrea Varghese, of our Department of Integrated Studies in Education (DISE), are the recipients of the 2017 Marjorie Gawley Award, presented by The Association of Teachers of English (ATEQ).

The Marjorie Gawley Award is a bursary for a pre-service teacher in the final year of their certification program in either Early Childhood, Elementary or Secondary education, and who is training to teach English Language Arts (ELA). Award recipients must demonstrate excellent leadership skills in their pre-service program.

Natalie Pepiot is a student in DISE's Elementary English Language Arts (ELA) program. Andrea Varghese is a student in DISE's Secondary English Language Arts program. 

Marjorie Gawley was an outstanding educator and pedagogue who gave Quebec teachers their first ELA curricula in the early 1980s. She believed in the highest standards of excellence in the teaching of ELA. She is also remembered for her commitment to the educational community she served; Marjorie founded ATEQ's annual English Language Arts conference, "Springboards", sat on the Board of Directors of ATEQ together with numerous other professional organizations, and worked closely with ELA teachers and teacher educators throughout her career.

The award was presented at the "Springboards" conference, today at Coronation Elementary School.


Back to top